Free Music

See the Most Popular Free Music

DM Stith - "Around The Lion Legs"

DM Stith - Around The Lion Legs

DM Stith will release his debut EP recording, Curtain Speech, next week (December 9). Critics at home and abroad are already talking about Stith, a recent signee to Asthmatic Kitty Records: Pitchfork,, Time Out London, Les Inrocks and others have praised this first bit of music from Stith.

Label-mates Sufjan Stevens and Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond contribute to the song "Around the Lion Legs," which is available here for free download.

Keep Reading...

Living Things - "Let It Rain"

Living Things - Let It Rain

Living Things are based in St. Louis, Missouri, featuring brothers Lillian, Eve, and Bosh Berlin, and their friend Cory Becker. Their songs have politically driven lyrics. Their forthcoming album Habeas Corpus is produced by Michael Ilbert (The Hives, The Hellacopters) and Living Things. Recorded and mixed at Hansa Ton Studio, Berlin, Germany. Check out Living Things' "Let It Rain" with a free download!

Keep Reading...

Blonde Acid Cult - "Calypso"

Blonde Acid Cult - Calypso

Blonde Acid Cult, who are ripping a destructive path through New York's party scene, they brings a schizophrenic dose of maximum rock and roll that has been turning audiences upside down. Stealing cultural vibes from the best Stax Records and putting them in the blender with the suicide droning of the Stooges, BAC feeds you a Molotov cocktail sure to get you fucked up and happy. Making their own scene of creative chaos has officially put them on the map and established them as one of the most undeniably exciting bands in New York today.

They recently performed at CMJ with the likes of Ponytail, Crystal Antlers, School of Seven Bells, Holy Ghost!, Moby and others. You can check them out with a free download of "Calypso."

Keep Reading...

The Blackhearts & Special Guests - "Silent Night"

The Blackhearts & Special Guests - Silent Night

The holidays are right around the corner and Blackheart Records, Joan Jett's record label, will be celebrating with a holiday album available on iTunes. The album features newly recorded holiday standards from Girl in a Coma, The Dollyrots and original tunes from Seattle punks The Cute Lepers and veteran Blackheart band The Vacancies. A modern take on "Silent Night" closes out the 11-track offering. Recently recorded with Joan Jett on vocals and guitar, the track includes excerpts from Barack Obama's victory speech in Chicago earlier this month.

Preview the album by downloading the recently recorded "Silent Night," a Blackheart twist on the holiday classic featuring Jett and guests.

Keep Reading...

Riverboat Gamblers - "A Choppy, Yet Sincere Apology"

Riverboat Gamblers - A Choppy, Yet Sincere Apology

In the wake of a somewhat checkered past, one that conjures up images of broken teeth and lacerated body parts, rogue Christmas trees and faulty trailer doors, Austin-by-way-of-Denton, X's Riverboat Gamblers return this coming Spring 2009 with a new album, "Underneath The Owl." Riverboat Gamblers released the first single, "A Choppy, Yet Sincere Apology" from their new album and encourage fans and casual freeloaders alike to download the DRM-free mp3.

Keep Reading...

Electric Owls - "Magic Show"

Electric Owls - Magic Show

Earlier this week Electric Owls released their Magic Show EP. In honor of the release, download Electric Owls' "Magic Show" for free!

Andy Herod is currently in the studio recording with his new project, Electric Owls. The as-yet-untitled album is due for release later this year on Vagrant.

The singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist is currently making Asheville, NC his home while recording at the famed Echo Mountain recording studio while The Comas remain on hiatus.

Herod is self-producing the album and joining him in the studio is The Comas’ Jason Caperton on guitar, Matt Gentling (Band of Horses, Archers of Loaf) on bass and Cully Symington (Gutter Twins) on drums. Also passing through the studio doors will be a slew of local musicians, some of whom were literally discovered performing on the streets of Asheville.

“We are getting up to things on this record that I might have been a little afraid to do in the past,” says Herod. “We are going completely over the top with a few ideas and it’s been unbelievably satisfying and fun. Hopefully that is what people will experience when they listen to the end result, too.”

Keep Reading...

Aneurysm Rats - "Dying To Live"

Aneurysm Rats - Dying To Live

Featuring members of Crumbler, One Up, Paint It Black and None More Black, meet Aneurysm Rats. The Philadelphia-based band's debut album "Dying To Live" will be released on vinyl by Flight Plan Records on November 11th. But we're streaming Aneurysm Rats' "Dying To Live" now! Be sure to check the band's MySpace page for upcoming shows.

This text will be replaced

The (International) Noise Conspiracy - "Assassination Of Myself"

The (International) Noise Conspiracy - Assassination Of Myself

Don't wait until the November 25th release in the States of The (International) Noise Conspiracy's "The Cross of My Calling." Download The (International) Noise Conspiracy's "Assassination Of Myself" for free below.

The quartet recorded the fourteen-track set at Sunset Sound in Hollywood with legendary producer Rick Rubin at the helm.

The (International) Noise Conspiracy formed in Northern Sweden in 1998 and quickly became known around the world for their self-aware political stance buoyed by their ’70s-inflected rock ‘n’ roll swagger. The group has released four full-lengths, countless singles and toured around the world multiple times.

Keep Reading...

Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan - "Seafaring Song"

Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan - Seafaring Song

In anticipation of the upcoming release of Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan's "Sunday at Devil Dirt," download a free MP3 of "Seafaring Song" below.

Sunday at Devil Dirt, the second collaboration between Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan, will be released for the first time in the US on November 18, 2008 via Fontana International/V2. Originally released on V2/Cooperative Music in the UK and Europe in May 2008, the US version will feature 5 bonus tracks.

Keep Reading...

Sasha - "Arcadia" (Invol2ver Remix)

Sasha - Arcadia (Invol2ver Remix)

Stream Sasha's Invol2ver remix of "Arcadia" from his upcoming album Invol2ver.

Featuring 13 tracks worth of Sasha gold, the standard edition features Sasha's unique re-workings of musical giants such as Radiohead's Thom Yorke and American folk singer Ray LaMontagne as well as formidable electronic artists Apparat and Ladytron, while the limited edition comes equipped with a second CD of Sasha remix exclusives. These include alternatve edits of Charlie May's 'Midnight (Extended Mix)', Home Video's 'Gas Tank (Sasha Invol2ver Remix)', Lostep's 'Burma (Involver Dub Mix)', Thom Yorke's 'Eraser (Sasha Coma Remix)', Sasha Vs Ray LaMontagne 'Eclipse (CM Dub Mix)' and Girls In Hawaii 'Flavor (Sasha Invol2ver Remix).'

Keep Reading...