Nettwerk To Release House Soundtrack

posted August 15, 2007

Nettwerk To Release House SoundtrackNettwerk Records in association with NBC Universal Video, Music & Product Development is set to release the original television soundtrack to the Emmy and Golden Globe award-winning series, House (FOX) on September 18.

The album features music from such artists as Ben Harper, Gomez, Lucinda Williams and Joe Cocker, as well as previously unreleased tracks from Sarah McLachlan and Elvis Costello. In addition, the soundtrack includes House star Hugh Laurie performing a classic rock song with Band From TV, including Greg Grunberg ("Heroes), James Denton ("Desperate Housewives"), Bonnie Somerville ("Cashmere Mafia"), Bob Guiney ("The Bachelor"), to benefit Laurie's charity Save The Children and other non-profit organizations.

The 12-track compilation echoes the alluring and sometimes dark feel of the emotionally charged series, with Massive Attack's "Teardrop" (the theme song of the series) opening the collection that also includes Ben Harper's "Waiting On An Angel," Lucinda William's "Are You Alright" and Josh Rouse's "God, Please Let Me Go Back."

Fans also get a bonus with never-before released tracks including Elvis Costello's fresh spin on Christina Aguilera's #1 hit single "Beautiful" and Sarah McLachlan's cover of the XTC classic "Dear God" (previously only available in Canada). Additionally, Band From TV, which features a handful of top TV celebrities, covers the Rolling Stones classic "You Can't Always Get What You Want."

"It's been a sheer delight working with Hugh Laurie and the producers behind House to put this together," says Maria Alonte McCoy, Senior Vice President Film & TV Music, Nettwerk Music Group. "The musical choices for this soundtrack are a reflection of the smart, funny yet terribly poignant drama that is House."

"The House soundtrack captures the essence and vibe of this show and offers fans new and unreleased material that was originally recorded for the show," says Shelli Hill, Vice President, Video, Music and Product Development, NBC Universal Television Distribution. "The album also features Hugh Laurie performing with Band From TV, as well as the House theme song from Massive Attack."

Track listing:
1. Massive Attack - Teardrop *
2. Gomez - See The World
3. Jon Clearly & The Absolute Monster Gentleman - Got To Be More Careful
4. Ben Harper - Waiting On An Angel
5. Michael Penn - Walter Reed
6. Elvis Costello - Beautiful **
7. Joe Cocker - Feelin' Alright
8. Sarah McLachlan - Dear God
9. Josh Rouse - God, Please Let Me Go Back
10. Lucinda Williams - Are You Alright?
11. Josh Ritter - Good Man
12. Band From TV - You Can't Always Get What You Want **

*North American release only
**Previously unreleased