I'm Not There Soundtrack Coming October 30

posted October 19, 2007

I'm Not There Soundtrack Coming October 30Columbia Records will release I'm Not There, the soundtrack album from the upcoming Todd Haynes film, on Tuesday, October 30.

Featuring songs from and inspired by one of the year's most wildly-anticipated films, the double-CD I'm Not There collection premieres new interpretations of Bob Dylan songs performed by an eclectic cavalcade of acclaimed and celebrated contemporary musicians including Eddie Vedder, Sonic Youth, Jim James, Stephen Malkmus, Cat Power, Jack Johnson, Sufjan Stevens, John Doe, Karen O, Iron & Wine, Mason Jennings, Jeff Tweedy, Willie Nelson, Antony, Los Lobos, Yo La Tengo, Mark Lanegan, Rambin' Jack Elliot, Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova and more.

Many of the album's performances include backing from the Million Dollar Bashers, an ensemble created for I'm Not There by Sonic Youth guitarist Lee Ranaldo, featuring Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley, Television guitarist Tom Verlaine, Wilco bassist Nels Cline, guitarist Smokey Hormel, keyboardist John Medeski and long-time Bob Dylan band bassist Tony Garnier. Eddie Vedder, Stephen Malkmus, and Karen O. are among the artists backed by the Million Dollar Bashers.

Other tracks on the album feature the alternative-country band Calexico backing up artists including Jim James, Iron & Wine, Roger McGuinn and Willie Nelson.

I'm Not There includes two versions of the enigmatic title track, a new interpretation performed by Sonic Youth and the original Bob Dylan recording, a rare oft-bootlegged outtake from "The Basement Tapes" sessions which has been previously unavailable on any official release.

"Todd's passion for the music and lore of Bob Dylan was just mesmerizing. Absolutely contagious," said Randall Poster, music supervisor for I'm Not There. "He brought so much energy to the storytelling that we had to find a way to match it musically. We wanted to reach out to artists who could bring the kind of energy and personality to the Dylan canon that would not only reflect on Bob, but bring new light to bear on the material. We put the call out to the outlaws and outsiders and came away with a treasure chest of great music. There was overwhelming love of Bob, but I have to say there was incredible love for Todd and his movies from the community of voices and players we reached out to."

One of the year's most highly-anticipated cinema releases, "I'm Not There" is a meta-biographical film re-imaging the life of Bob Dylan as portrayed by six different actors -- Marcus Carl Franklin, Ben Whishaw, Heath Ledger, Christian Bale, Richard Gere, and Cate Blanchett -- in six different phases of the artist's life and career. Also appearing in "I'm Not There" are Julianne Moore (as Alice), Michelle Williams (as Coco Rivington), Charlotte Gainsbourg (as Claire), and comedian David Cross (as Allen Ginsberg).

"I'm Not There" is co-written and directed by Todd Haynes, who first radicalized pop music history in film with his controversial short, "Superstar: The Karen Carpenter Story" in 1987 and later with his surrealist glam-rock feature, "Velvet Goldmine," in 1998. Haynes' last narrative feature film, 2002's "Far From Heaven," was nominated for four Academy Awards including Best Cinematography (Edward Lachman, Haynes' cinematographer on "I'm Not There"), Best Music, Original Score (Elmer Bernstein), Best Writing, Original Screenplay (Todd Haynes), and Best Actress in a Leading Role (Julianne Moore).

"I'm Not There" is slated for a limited US release on November 21.

Media Player: I'm Not There (featuring film trailer & full songs from Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power, Jim James & Calexico)

I'm Not There Tracklisting:
Disc 1
1. Eddie Vedder and the Million Dollar Bashers: "All Along the Watchtower"
2. Sonic Youth: "I'm Not There"
3. Jim James and Calexico: "Goin' to Acapulco"
4. Richie Havens: "Tombstone Blues"
5. Stephen Malkmus and the Million Dollar Bashers: "Ballad of a Thin Man"
6. Cat Power: "Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again"
7. John Doe: "Pressing On"
8. Yo La Tengo: "Fourth Time Around"
9. Iron and Wine and Calexico: "Dark Eyes"
10. Karen O and the Million Dollar Bashers: "Highway 61 Revisited"
11. Roger McGuinn and Calexico: "One More Cup of Coffee"
12. Mason Jennings: "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll"
13. Los Lobos: "Billy"
14. Jeff Tweedy: "Simple Twist of Fate"
15. Mark Lanegan: "The Man in the Long Black Coat"
16. Willie Nelson and Calexico: "SeƱor (Tales of Yankee Power)"

Disc 2
1. Mira Billotte: "As I Went Out One Morning"
2. Stephen Malkmus and Lee Ranaldo: "Can't Leave Her Behind"
3. Sufjan Stevens: "Ring Them Bells"
4. Charlotte Gainsbourg and Calexico: "Just Like a Woman"
5. Jack Johnson: "Mama You've Been on My Mind"
6. Yo La Tengo: "I Wanna Be Your Lover"
7. Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova: "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere"
8. The Hold Steady: "Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window"
9. Ramblin' Jack Elliott: "Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues"
10. The Black Keys: "Wicked Messenger"
11. Tom Verlaine and the Million Dollar Bashers: "Cold Irons Bound"
12. Mason Jennings: "The Times They Are a-Changin'"
13. Stephen Malkmus and the Million Dollar Bashers: "Maggie's Farm"
14. Marcus Carl Franklin: "When the Ship Comes In"
15. Bob Forrest: "Moonshiner"
16. John Doe: "I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine"
17. Antony and the Johnsons: "Knockin' on Heaven's Door"
18. Bob Dylan: "I'm Not There"