Single File To Release Debut Full-length Album Via Reprise Records

posted January 26, 2009

Single File To Release Debut Full-length Album Via Reprise Records

Reprise Records will release Common Struggles, the full-length debut from Single File, on April 7th. Shortly thereafter, the Colorado-based band - consisting of Sloan Anderson (lead vocals/guitar/bass), Chris Depew (drums/backing vocals) and Joe Ginsberg (bass/guitar/keyboards) - will join Alkaline Trio and Anberlin on the "Pick Up The Phone Tour." Dates for the month-long trek, which aims to raise awareness of suicide prevention and mental health issues, will be announced shortly. And for the fifth consecutive year, Single File will be going out on the Vans Warped tour.

Produced by Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, The All-American Rejects, Less Than Jake) and mixed by Tom Lord-Alge (The Rolling Stones, Weezer, Fountains of Wayne), Common Struggles is an exuberant, adrenalin-fueled record that simultaneously celebrates and subverts classic pop songwriting, with a tip of the hat to musical forebears such as Tom Petty, Weezer and the Beatles. Album opener "Mannequin Loveseat" (available now at digital retailers) sets the tone - lighthearted on the surface but dark around the edges as its cheeky, self-absorbed narrator surrenders to social phobia. Bookended by the trio's cheery whistles, lead single "Girlfriends" details a cycle of self-loathing and self-medication while pleading "so what if I'm a burnout, baby, you don't gotta celebrate it."

"Loneliness and distance are probably the two biggest themes of the record," says Anderson, who writes the band's lyrics. "The title Common Struggles says it all - I'm not pretending that any of what I've dealt with is new, it's just the human condition." "It's important to maintain a sense of humor, because if you can't laugh at yourself and at the things that happen to you, you're not really enjoying life to the fullest," adds Depew.

Their collective sense of humor has seen the three friends through a tumultuous decade together. Anderson and Depew started playing music together in junior high, when they rigged up a drum kit out of cardboard boxes, Legos and G.I. Joe parts. Upon meeting Ginsberg in high school, they immediately clicked as a trio but took separate paths after graduation. In time, Anderson - who had moved to North Carolina and was working as an artist at a video game company - began writing songs over the phone with Ginsberg, who was studying jazz at USC in Los Angeles. Collaborating became easier after Activision offered Anderson a job in LA and relocated him. The two recorded an EP in Anderson's office after hours and soon Depew joined them in LA.

After a few self-booked tours, they stuck their stuff in storage and hit the road for the long haul. Their gigs earned them just enough to fill the RV's gas tank, so the band lived off food from fans. "We'd post it on our MySpace page - 'hey, if you want to bring non-perishables or water to the show, we'll hook you up with some free merch,'" remembers Ginsberg.

By the time Single File signed to Reprise Records, the band had three EP's, two consecutive years on the Vans Warped tour and a local radio hit to its credit. "Zombies Ate My Neighbors" made it to No. 1 on KTCL, the Clear Channel alternative radio station in Denver - after the program director at local hard rock station KBPI discovered it in a station contest and sent it on to a colleague at KTCL. (A newly recorded version of the song appears on Common Struggles.) Grateful for the early support, the band will release "Girlfriends," its upcoming single, to Denver radio in March, with Reprise Records servicing it to the rest of the country a month later.

The track listing for Common Struggles is as follows:

  1. Mannequin Loveseat
  2. Don't Hate
  3. Girlfriends
  4. Airports
  5. Pizzagirl
  6. Miss Cherry Lipgloss
  7. Melody of You
  8. Blue Sky Happiness
  9. Zombies Ate My Neighbors
  10. Dear Meghan
  11. Benson Shady Grove