Alain Johannes Shares Two New Songs From "Spark"

posted October 5, 2010

Alain Johannes Shares Two New Songs From "Spark"

Alain Johannes’ album "Spark" hit stores this week on Queens of the Stone Age/Them Crooked Vultures frontman Joshua Homme’s label, Rekords Rekords (co-released by Ipecac Recordings). However, as an early treat Johannes is giving his fans not one but two new tracks for free. If you haven’t already caught it when it premiered over at, then stream/download “Return To You.” Though it’s anchored by deceptively sunny melodies, the track carries an immense emotional weight as Johannes sings “Take me away / make me forget this is real.” The other song is a non-album bonus track called “Fall To Grace.”

Having collaborated with the likes of Queens of the Stone Age, Them Crooked Vultures, Chris Cornell, Brody Dalle’s Spinnerette, and Mark Lanegan to name a few, Johannes already has a reputation as an inventive and highly expressive guitarist. With "Spark" he proves himself to be a soulful vocalist and skillful songwriter as well. The album also reveals flamenco, classical, and Indian music as a major influence on his playing and one of the reasons why his style is so unique.

After the passing of Natasha Schneider, Johannes’ late wife and creative partner, he began writing solo material both as an homage to her, and as a means of wrestling with the complex emotions he was experiencing. The resulting songs that make up Spark take listeners on a breathtaking journey they will want to experience over and over again.