Alberta Cross, Dead Confederate To Co-Headline Nationwide Tour This September

posted July 16, 2010

Alberta Cross, Dead Confederate To Co-Headline Nationwide Tour This September

Alberta Cross, praised by Rolling Stone as "roots-rock grit meets Brit-pop grandeur," will co-headline a nationwide tour with Dead Confederate. Kicking off September 6 in Portland, OR, the month-long tour will take the band across the country to cities including San Francisco, Los Angeles, Chicago, Boston and more. The tour follows a busy summer for Alberta Cross, who will head to Australia and Japan later this month. Widely praised for their live shows, Alberta Cross has headlined sold out shows across the nation, and have shared the stage in the US and Europe with Them Crooked Vultures, Oasis, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Mumford & Sons, among others.

Their much-anticipated ATO Records debut "Broken Side of Time" is being widely praised by critics, with Esquire declaring "as electrically dark as it is electrifyingly determined," and Billboard calling it "a step forward in cementing their place in American blues-rock," that "leaves an unmistakable mark." Likewise, they were featured as a Breaking Artist in Rolling Stone, which praises them for "combining wind tunnels of bent guitar riffs and distorted power chords with the haunting melodies of rural American music. It's all topped by Ericson Stakee's sweet, high-lonesome voice, which recalls both Jim James and Neil Young."

Alberta Cross took shape when Sweden-born guitarist/vocalist Petter Ericson Stakee and bassist Terry Wolfers, a Brit himself, began jamming together in London's east end. Their acclaimed EP "The Thief & the Heartbreaker" earned the band widespread critical praise with NPR finding "It's a long way from London to Laurel Canyon, but they seem to have found the portal." Following a series of U.K. touring slots with Oasis, The Shins and Bat for Lashes, Alberta Cross relocated to New York City in pursuit of renewed creative energy and new challenges.

"Broken Side of Time" is born of the struggles and setbacks the band faced along the way. The album serves as Alberta Cross' official introduction to the US. As Stakee explains, "It's kind of a desperation album, a darker album; it's definitely angrier. We've been in a crazy place during the whole album and you can hear that."

Led by Stakee and Wolfers, Alberta Cross is rounded out by guitarist Sam Kearney, drummer Austin Beede and keyboardist Alec Higgins. "Broken Side of Time" was recorded in Austin, TX and produced by Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Dead Confederate, Heartless Bastards). John O'Mahony (Depeche Mode, Coldplay, Kasabian) mixed the album at Electric Lady in New York City.


  • August 31 Taco Bell Arena (w/ Dave Matthews Band) Boise, ID
  • September 2 Biltmore Cabaret Vancouver, BC
  • September 3-5 The Gorge (w/ Dave Matthews Band) Quincy, WA
  • September 6 Doug Fir Lounge Portland, OR
  • September 8 Great American Music Hall San Francisco, CA
  • September 9 SOHO Santa Barbara, CA
  • September 11 Troubadour Los Angeles, CA
  • September 12 Belly Up Tavern Solana Beach, CA
  • September 14 Plush Tucson, AZ
  • September 15 The Rhythm Room Phoenix, AZ
  • September 17 Telluride Blues & Brews Festival Telluride, CO
  • September 17 Sheridan Opera House (Late Night Show) Telluride, CO
  • September 18 Larimer Lounge Denver, CO
  • September 19 Fox Theatre Boulder, CO
  • September 21 The Firebird St. Louis, MO
  • September 22 Double Door Chicago, IL
  • September 24 Nor'Easter Festival Lincoln, NE
  • September 25 The Note West Chester, PA
  • September 26 The Middle East Boston, MA