All Systems Go For Rocket From The Crypt's Rarities Release

posted August 24, 2008

All Systems Go For Rocket From The Crypt's Rarities Release

Rocket From The Crypt will be releasing their third installment of the All Systems Go series on Vagrant August 26, 2008. All Systems Go III features 20 “lost master” 8-track demos recorded in San Diego, CA.

“It's violent, aggressive and thuggish stuff,” says Speedo, aka frontman John Reis, “and to me sounds much better now in retrospect than when we originally were recording these demos. I am really psyched about it. Thematically, musically, etc., it's all very period to an undocumented part of the bands history. I hope you take it for what it is and enjoy it on that level. I really believe if the band was still around, we would make a record at least sonically similar to ASG 3.”

All Systems Go III features 20 tracks that were recorded on a Tascam 8-Track tape machine in the Rocket From The Crypt practice space, aka ‘Manville,’ aka ‘Drag Racist Studio’ between 1997-2000. Speedo believes that “despite the miscues, clams, muck-ups, bloopers, etc inherent on this disc, this is the RFTC recording for today.”

The first volume of All Systems Go was released in 1993 after the band had only released two studio albums, but loads of 7”s and lent their music to multitudes of compilations. Originally only released in conjunction with a tour in Japan, the high demand for it back in the states prompted an American release. The next installment, ASG, Vol. 2 was released on Swami in 1999. Made up of mostly B-sides from British singles from their studio albums, ASG Vol. 2 also included several of cover songs.

Speedo is soon to embark on a string of dates with his latest band The Night Marchers. The group is touring in support of their debut disc, See You In Magic (released by Vagrant on April 22nd).

All Systems Go III track listing:

  1. Falling Down Stairs
  2. Total Bummer
  3. Chariots On Fire
  4. Little Shaver
  5. Canyon Killer
  6. Don’t Wanna Be Touched
  7. Orange County
  8. Pictures of Lenny
  9. Man Down
  10. Summer Survivor
  11. Luck Is The New
  12. Tiger Mask (Instrumental)
  13. When In Rome (Do The Jerk)
  14. Dick On A Dog
  15. Dynamite
  16. Due Warning
  17. The Whip
  18. Come on Everybody
  19. No Way At All
  20. This Way Out

The Night Marchers on Tour:
Sep 2 – Long Beach, CA @ Alex’s Bar
Sep 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sep 4 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Sep 5 – Portland, OR @ Dante’s (Musicfest NW)
Sep 6 – Vancouver, BD @ Pat’s Pub
Sep 7 – Seattle, WA @ King Cobra
Sep 9 – Salt Lake City, WA @ Burt’s Tiki lounge
Sep 11 – Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room
Sep 12 – Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot Saloon
Sep 13 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater (Monolith Festival)
Sep 18 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s Jr (Emo’s Anniversary Bash)
Sep 19 – San Diego, CA @ Street Scene Festival