Battles Release Details Of New Album "Gloss Drop"

posted March 31, 2011

Battles Release Details Of New Album "Gloss Drop"

Battles have announced their new album, "Gloss Drop," will be released on June 7th. It features the UK's dark synth pop pioneer Gary Numan, Chilean born Kompakt minimal techno producer Matias Aguayo, cult indie rocker Kazu Makino of Blonde Redhead, and Yamantaka Eye, the messianic dreadlocked front man of Japanese cosmiche future beat unit, the Boredoms and artwork by Dave Konopka.

"When you see a band you really like, the reason you really like them is because you wish you'd had that idea. And when I saw Battles I thought, "Damn! Why didn't I think of that?" said Battles' fan Brian Eno.

You can often spot the best bands - the truly once-in-a-generation type - by their names alone. The all time greats usually come ready made with nomenclature that encapsulates their sound and ethos effortlessly.

"When we're writing songs, no one in this group has ever said ‘Wait, we've gone too far. This isn't a Battles song.' Because what is a Battles song? We don't know. All I know is that there are no parameters and no boundaries. That is the whole point and has been since day one," said Battles' John Stanier.

Audio: Battles - "Ice Cream" (featuring Matias Aguayo)

June 7 2011

  1. Africastle
  2. Ice Cream (Featuring Matias Aguayo)
  3. Futura
  4. Inchworm
  5. Wall Street
  6. My Machines (Featuring Gary Numan)
  7. Dominican Fade
  8. Sweetie & Shag (Featuring Kazu Makino)
  9. Toddler
  10. Rolls Bayce
  11. White Electric
  12. Sundome (Featuring Yamantaka Eye)

Gloss Drop artwork by Dave Konopka
Band photos by Jason Frank Rothenberg, 2011