Bettie Serveert To Release New Record In March

posted December 16, 2009

Bettie Serveert To Release New Record In March

Bettie Serveert's new album, "Pharmacy of Love," will be released on March 23rd by Second Motion Records in the US and by Sound of Pop in Canada. But fans will get a preview of the new material with the acclaimed Dutch indie rock band's digital EP, "Deny All," which will be available beginning January 26th on the iTunes Music Store. In addition to lead single "Deny All," the EP will include a long version of "Calling (XL)" and a small version of "Souls Travel (small)" plus "Waiting for Control," a bonus track that won't appear on Pharmacy of Love. You can check out the video for "Deny All" at the band's website.

Recorded earlier this year in a Belgian recording studio, founding members Carol van Dyk (vocals/guitar), Peter Visser (guitar) and Herman Bunskoeke (bass) were joined on the new album by special guest Joppe Molenaar (of the Dutch band Voicst) on drums. "It's the blow upon a bruise," sings van Dyk on "Love Lee," and the phrase perfectly describes Bettie Serveert's proclivity for cloaking the starkest emotions with verve and aplomb.

Bettie Serveert released its debut album, "Palomine," in 1992. Signed to Matador Records in the States, the band was championed by critics and quickly became a favorite at college radio with singles "Tom Boy" and "Kid's Allright" getting substantial airplay. Lamprey, which Melody Maker praised for having the most tangled, desolate, real life guitar sound of the year, was released in 1995, followed by 1997's "Dust Bunnies," which the band recorded in Woodstock, NY with producer Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Lemonheads). The band toured extensively, opening for bands such as Belly, Dinosaur Jr, Buffalo Tom, Superchunk, Jeff Buckley, Wilco and Counting Crows. After its 1998 live album of Velvet Underground covers, Bettie Serveert Plays Venus in Furs and Other Velvet Underground Songs, the band released a string of studio albums - Private Suit, Log 22 and Attagirl - on its own label, Palomine Records. Celebrating its 15th anniversary, Bettie Serveert released "Bare Stripped Naked" in 2006. A semi-acoustic CD/DVD package of primarily new material, it was hailed by as "a rousing and heroic reminder of what a great band they were and continue to be."

The track listing for "Pharmacy of Love" is as follows:

  1. Deny All
  2. Semaphore
  3. Love Lee
  4. Mossie
  5. The Pharmacy
  6. Souls Travel
  7. Calling
  8. Change4Me
  9. What They Call Love