Cake Announce New Album "Showroom Of Compassion"

posted October 7, 2010

Cake Announce New Album "Showroom Of Compassion"

Cake - John McCrea (Vocals/Piano/Nord), Vincent DiFiore (Trumpet/Euphonium/Keyboards), Xan McCurdy (Guitar/Synthesizer) and Gabriel Nelson (Bass/Guitar/Rheem/Bandalero) - announces their first album of new material since 2004's "Pressure Chief." They'll release "Showroom Of Compassion," their sixth studio album, January 11, 2011, on their own label, Upbeat Records (through Warner Music Group's Independent Label Group). The album was recorded over the last two and a half years and was produced and engineered by the band themselves at Cake's own solar electric powered studio in Sacramento, CA.

The first single, "Sick Of You," is off to a great start at Alternative, Rock and Triple A radio with early adds coming through at stations in big markets like WRXP/NYC, DC101/Washington DC, WRFF/Philly, 91X/San Diego, KTBZ/Houston, 99X/Atlanta, WBOS/Boston, KNDD/Seattle, KNRK/Portland, WXDX/Pittsburgh, KRBZ/Kansas City, CD101/Columbus and KKDO/Sacramento among others. As can attest, "['Sick Of You'] is vintage CAKE, with frontman John McCrea's jaded, semi-spoken vocals, crunchy guitar riffs, a skippy beat, and blasts of trumpet." has the exclusive online premiere of the song.

Showroom Of Compassion official track-listing

  1. Federal Funding
  2. Long Time
  3. Got To Move
  4. What's Now Is Now
  5. Mustache Man (Wasted)
  6. Teenage Pregnancy
  7. Sick Of You
  8. Easy to Crash
  9. Bound Away
  10. The Winter
  11. Italian Guy