Cheap Girls Debut New Video And Announce Tour

posted March 19, 2010

Cheap Girls Debut New Video And Announce Tour

After wrapping a handful of successful shows in Florida at the Harvest Of Hope Festival this past weekend, Michigan power-pop trio Cheap Girls kick off a tour with Paper + Plastick Records labelmates The Riot Before (see all dates below). The two-week trek brings the band up the east coast, and west towards Chicago, stopping in Brooklyn, Boston, Cleveland and Madison along the way. In conjunction with the tour, Cheap Girls premiere the new video for the song "Ft. Lauderdale" exclusively at or after the jump.

Cheap Girls were recently named one of Alternative Press's 100 Bands You Need To Know in 2010, and commented "Cheap Girls honed in on the best elements of their sound [after releasing their debut Find Me A Drink Home]... The result, "My Roaring 20's," is a rock-solid testament to the band's goals, a powerful full-length in the vein of classic early-‘90's college rock." The trio recorded their sophomore full-length, "My Roaring 20's," with producer Rick Johnson (of Mustard Plug and Bomb The Music Industry!), which further expands on their jangly power-pop. While wearing their influences on their sleeves, yet delivering a unique and catchy take on the sound of the ‘90's, Detroit Metro Times recently commented, "The thick, distortion-drenched three- and four-chord blitzes recall such pre-grunge icons as the Lemonheads, Superchunk and Buffalo Tom, with their amped-up, highly melodic odes to slackers, potheads and dreamers," while Alternative Press adds "They fashion catchy, distortion-drenched paeans that seep a vaguely melancholy air (credit the downbeat vocal delivery) and hit like a knuckle-protruding frog punch. Their most immediate touchstone is Bill Janovitz's Buffalo Tom, whose vocals frontmam Ian Graham greatly resembles, though the crunchy, overdriven major chord guitar melodies equally call to mind acts like Superchunk, the Meices, Seaweed and early Lemonheads."

"My Roaring 20's" is available from Paper + Plastick Records on vinyl in two different colors, and also includes a CD version of the album. Also available from the band is their debut Find Me A Drink Home, and the free acoustic EP, recorded at WKDU last November.

Video: Cheap Girls - "Ft. Lauderdale"


  • Mar 17 - Louisville, KY @ Skull Alley *
  • Mar 18 - Indianapolis, IN @ The Vollrath Tavern *
  • Mar 19 - Columbus, OH @ Legion Of Doom w/ P.S. Elliot, Sundials & more
  • Mar 20 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Garfield Artworks *
  • Mar 21 - Philadelphia, PA @ The Fire w/ The Holy Mess
  • Mar 22 - Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory * w/ Kudrow
  • Mar 23 - Providence, RI @ Jerkey's Live *
  • Mar 24 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott *
  • Mar 25 - Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place * w/ Unwelcome Guests & Failures' Union
  • Mar 26 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom * w/ The Sidekicks
  • Mar 27 - Toledo, OH @ Frankie's *
  • Mar 28 - Mt Pleasant, MI @ Justice Records * w/ Homelife
  • Mar 29 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Fat Guy House *
  • Mar 30 - Madison, MI @ The Frequency *
  • Mar 31 - Chicago, IL @ Ronny's * w/ Grown Ups
  • April 9 - Lansing, MI @ Mac's Bar w/ Smoking Popes & Good Luck
  • April 17 - Flint, MI @ Flint Salvation Army
  • May 13 - Charlotte, NC @ Milestone Club w/ The Measure (SA), One Win Choice, PJ Bond
  • May 14 - Wilmington, NC @ Rad Fest
  • May 15 - Wilmington, NC @ Rad Fest (16 Taps) w/ Army of Ponch
  • May 16 - Richmond, VA @ Dull House
  • May 21 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Mixtape - MidwestFest w/ Maps + Atlases
  • May 28 - Chicago, IL @ Windy City Sound Clash at Subterranean
  • May 29 - Chicago, IL @ Windy City Sound Clash at Subterranean w/ The Ataris, Banner Pilot & more
  • May 30 - Chicago, IL @ Windy City Sound Clash at Subterranean