Deathfix Announce Debut Album And Spring Tour

posted January 10, 2013

Deathfix Announce Debut Album And Spring Tour

On February 25, Dischord will release the self-titled debut album by Washington, D.C.'s Deathfix. Deathfix formed in 2009 after Brendan Canty (Fugazi, Rites of Spring) and Rich Morel (Morel, Blowoff) met while touring in Bob Mould's band. Having discovered a shared affinity for the sounds of 1972 — particularly glam and progressive rock — they started getting together to work on music at Canty's warehouse studio space. Two years later, hoping to graduate the band from its studio-shut-in phase to its live ensemble phase, they recruited Devin Ocampo (Faraquet, Medications) and Mark Cisneros (Medications) to hold down the rhythm section. Both talented multi-instrumentalists and producers in their own right, Cisneros and Ocampo soon began contributing their own riffs and arrangement ideas.

The band's self-titled debut includes seven songs that were recorded throughout 2012 at Canty's studio. During that time, Morel and Canty's demos were torn up and expanded through extensive improv sessions alongside Ocampo and Cisneros. Tracks that started out small and introspective were blown up to a size and volume more befitting of the group's cavernous practice space.

The tone is dark, but the lyrics — which cover themes covers themes like sickness, breakups, corruption, drugs, fame, and losing ones mind — shouldn't be read as straight biography. They're works of fiction; character studies that just happen to touch on topics that are close to home.

Deathfix on Tour:

  • 3/8 Pittsburgh PA - The Mr. Roboto Project
  • 3/9 Cleveland OH - Now That's Class
  • 3/10 Chicago IL - Schubas Tavern
  • 3/11 Detroit MI - Magic Stick Lounge
  • 3/12 Toronto ON - Wrong Bar
  • 3/13 Montreal QC - Il Motore
  • 3/14 Cambridge MA - TT The Bears
  • 3/15 Philadelphia PA - Johnny Brenda's
  • 3/16 Brooklyn NY - Knitting Factory
  • 3/17 Washington DC - Black Cat Backstage