Franz Nicolay Launches European Tour With Moneybrother

posted December 1, 2009

Franz Nicolay Launches European Tour With Moneybrother

Hold Steady and World/Inferno Friendship Society member Franz Nicolay will begin a two-week tour of Germany and Austria tomorrow with Sweden's Moneybrother. The mustachioed multi-instrumentalist is playing shows in support of his latest solo offering, "St. Sebastian Of The Short Stage."

Released on November 10th, 2009, by Team Science, the four-song EP is available in both 10-inch vinyl and digital formats. The label has pressed 500 copies (200 clear, 300 black) and each record includes a free MP3 download for all the songs, plus a pullout poster insert and an exclusive new short story by Nicolay entitled "Paraska Mikhailivna Is A Witch."

Featuring artwork by Nicholas Gazin, "St. Sebastian Of The Short Stage" comes on the heels of Nicolay's acclaimed solo debut, "Major General." The four brand new tracks include a collaboration with the Dresden Dolls on a cover of Jonathan Richman's "New England," a Watchmen-inspired tribute to a retired superhero, and two songs self-described as "bleeding heart weepies."

Nicolay is currently streaming two songs from the EP on his MySpace page.

European Tour

  • DEC 01 - Dresden, Germany @ Beatpol w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 02 - Essen, Germany @ Zeche Carl w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 03 - Bielefeld, Germany @ Kamp w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 05 - Berlin, Germany @ Postbahnhof w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 06 - Hamburg, Germany @ Grunspan w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 07 - Koln, Germany @ Stollwerck w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 08 - Munchen, Germany @ Backstagehall w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 10 - Karlsruhe, Germany @ Substage w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 11 - Innsbruck, Austria @ Weekender w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 12 - Ebensee, Austria @ Kino w/ Moneybrother
  • DEC 13 - Vienna, Austria @ Wuk w/ Moneybrother