From Monument To Masses Set New Album For March Release

posted January 13, 2009

From Monument To Masses Set New Album For March Release

Bi-coastal post-rock band From Monument to Masses, stationed in New York City and San Francisco, are releasing a new full-length CD/LP on DJ Steve Aoki's Dim Mak Records on March 10, 2009. More releases are to be issued worldwide and will be announced soon. FMTM recorded 60+ minutes of new politically-charged music, plus non-album cuts at John Vanderslice's Tiny Telephone Studios in San Francisco with the engineering genius of Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Minus the Bear, Russian Circles) at the console. FMTM has entitled their new sonic testimonial "something" and it will be the first full-length album of all new studio material since 2003's The Impossible Leap in One Hundred Simple Steps (DM 050). The emotive and celebratory single is entitled "Beyond God & Elvis."

In December of 2000, drummer/programmer Francis Choung replied to a post from a transplanted Chicago math rock guitarist Matthew Solberg who had been ranting on about wanting to create some angry, angular, and soulful music in the SF Bay Area that would have little to do with the ever present specters of punk and metal. Inspired by bands like Refused, Faraquet, and Shipping News, they wanted to write meticulous yet raw music that would escape the math rock niche and find a new territory altogether. Soon thereafter, Sergio Robledo-Maderazo joined on bass and synth, and the three discovered a sound and a philosophy. Politics and music became inseparable. Theory, raw experience, and idealism all came crashing together in a new sound for a new kind of listener. In 2002, a year after forming, FMTM began playing shows and released its first Self-Titled CD on Dim Mak (DM031 out-of-print).

In late 2003 FMTM released an instrumental post-punk album encompassing their political fury, and their personal experience: The Impossible Leap in One Hundred Simple Steps. The Impossible Leap, a sometimes cryptic, but ever-entrancing narrative comment on post-9/11 world politics and the historical cost of western Imperialism, had struck a nerve and demonstrated an inspired young bands vision of indie rock's future: Synthesis. In 2005, in order to explore new digital directions while getting comfortable with them, and to whet the appetite of their fanbase, FMTM released Schools of Thought Contend (Dim Mak 086) an amalgam of new studio work and remix collaborations with 12 different artists, including 65 Days of Static, Jason Clark of Pretty Girls Make Graves, and Filip Nikolic of Ima Robot.