Hurricane Bells Ready "Down Comes The Rain" EP For September Release

posted July 2, 2010

Hurricane Bells Ready "Down Comes The Rain" EP For September Release

Hurricane Bells will release a new EP, "Down Comes The Rain," on September 7th, 2010. "Down Comes The Rain" was recorded by band architect Steve Schiltz in his Brooklyn, NY, apartment and Queens, NY, studio over the past six months, during breaks from touring in support of the band's debut album, "Tonight Is The Ghost." As with that album, Schiltz entirely wrote, recorded, played, and produced the EP himself, this time with backing vocals from Hurricane Bells touring mainstay Ashen Keilyn (of Scout).

"Down Comes The Rain" includes two new songs from the band, the gently ringing guitars and brushed drums of "The Waiting Song" and the cascading "The Deep End." The EP also features three cover songs: the jangly power-pop of "Make A Deal With The City" by East River Pipe; the reverb-heavy, undulating "Into The Ocean" by Blue October (with whom Hurricane Bells toured in April); and the sweet acoustic yearnings of "Will You Love Me Tomorrow." The latter, made popular by The Shirelles, is here sung with Keilyn in a duet that has become a staple at Hurricane Bells' live shows. September headlining dates surrounding the EP's release will be announced soon.

The EP follows "Tonight Is The Ghost," which was released first digitally last fall by Vagrant. Schiltz, also frontman for Longwave, had planned to release the album himself until a b-side, "Monsters," was chosen for The Twilight Saga: New Moon soundtrack. The album is also now available in stores, as is a Hallmark card featuring "Monsters."

Hurricane Bells recently released a new video for "Tonight Is The Ghost" track "Freezing Rain," created by Schiltz. This new video follows previous clips for "This Year" (directed by Bill Moldt and Christopher Bean); "Monsters" (directed by Bill Moldt); "This Is A Test" (created by Schiltz); and "The Winters In New York" (directed by Bill Moldt and Christopher Bean).

Down Comes The Rain track listing:

  1. Make A Deal With The City
  2. The Waiting Song
  3. Into The Ocean
  4. The Deep End
  5. Will You Love Me Tomorrow