Icelandic Artist Sóley Announces East Coast Dates With Of Monsters And Men

posted October 9, 2012

Icelandic Artist Sóley Announces East Coast Dates With Of Monsters And Men

Sóley Stefánsdóttir, student of composition and member of the Icelandic indie-collective Seabear and Sin Fang, has announced performances down the East Coast with Of Monsters and Men. The mostly sold-out tour supports her We Sink debut full-length via Morr Music, and begins on November 15 in Toronto stretching through November 30 in Orlando. The intimate songs off We Sink will be performed across two dates in NYC and Toronto, and the tour commences after she performs at this year's Iceland Airwaves Festival. Morr Music will host a showcase at the festival on Wednesday, October 31 featuring FM Belfast, Sin Fang, Pascal Pinon, Prins Polo, and Sóley.   

Sóley has received over 7 million YouTube views for a fan's uploaded stream of her song 'Pretty Face.' It's hard to believe this is the same artist that did not deem herself a proper singer until she had been around the world and back with Seabear. We Sink is 13 tracks of intricate compositions where she combines seemingly disparate elements with stunning ease. Sometimes incredibly catchy and other times amazingly quirky, the album has a carefree quality reminiscent of earlier Icelandic acts but also calling to mind the sounds of Joanna Newsom, or the Casady sisters circa 2004. 

Sóley Tour Dates  

  • Oct-31 - Reykjavik, Iceland - Iðnó^
  • Nov-15 - Toronto, ON - Kool Haus (sold-out)    
  • Nov-16 - Toronto, ON - Kool Haus (sold-out) 
  • Nov-17 - Montreal, QB Metropolis - (M for Montreal) (sold-out)  
  • Nov-19 - Boston, MA -Orpheum 
  • Nov-20 - New York, NY - Terminal 5 (sold-out) 
  • Nov-21 - New York, NY - Terminal 5 (sold-out) 
  • Nov-24 - Philadelphia, PA - Tower   
  • Nov-25 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club (sold-out)
  • Nov-29 - Atlanta, GA - Tabernacle (sold-out) 
  • Nov-30 - Orlando, FL - Beacham (sold-out) 

^FM Belfast, Sin Fang, Prins Póló, Pascal Pinon
*All US dates with Of Monsters and Men

We Sink Tracklisting

  1. I'll Drown
  2. Smashed Birds
  3. Pretty Face
  4. Bad Dream
  5. Dance
  6. And Leave
  7. Blue Leaves
  8. Kill The Clown
  9. Fight Them Soft 
  10. About Your Funeral 
  11. The Sun Is Going Down I
  12. The Sun Is Going Down II
  13. Theater Island