Jeff Klein Releases Brand New Solo EP, Readies Album With My Jerusalem

posted June 4, 2010

Jeff Klein Releases Brand New Solo EP, Readies Album With My Jerusalem

Jeff Klein has released this week a brand new EP titled "Death Of The Fox." Recorded in New Orleans, LA and co-produced with Mike Napolitano who also engineered and mixed it. The six-song EP includes" "Like Leads To Lonely," "I Just Want My Fucking Life Back," "Give Up," "Let's Be Enemies," "Kiss & Tell," "This Heart Is A Pump." In other Jeff Klein news...his band, My Jerusalem will be releasing their debut single, "Love You When You Leave" on June 28th, and their debut album "Gone For Good" on September 6th both through One Little Indian.

A full My Jerusalem tour is promised for later in the year, but fans will be able to see main-man Jeff Klein previewing songs from the new album with solo shows in June overseas as follows:

  • Tues 15 Cambridge - Portland Arms
  • Wed 16 Birmingham - Hare & Hounds
  • Thurs 17 Bath - Moles
  • Sun 20 Brighton - Freebutt
  • Mon 21 London - Borderline
  • Tues 22 Newcastle - Cluny
  • Wed 23 Sheffield - The Forum
  • Fri 25 Glasgow - King Tuts
  • Sat 26 Manchester - Roadhouse
  • Sun 27 York - Fibbers

"Love You When You Leave" is a wonderfully knowing, bittersweet love song of sorts in which bassist Ashley Dzerigian plays Nancy Sinatra to Klein's Lee Hazelwood, the affair clocking in at a succinct 2.15. "It was one of the first songs we recorded as a band," Klein enthuses, "Everyone huddled in the living room with 2 microphones, except the drums which were in the kitchen of the apartment across the hall with a million wires and cables connecting us. This was also the first time Ashley ever sang on any recordings ever. I love her voice."

"I didn't actually start out thinking of forming a band," Klein says. "I'd played with all of them at different times, and I was like, 'How great would it be to play with all of these people at the same time?' And then when we did, it made perfect sense for that to be what we do. We clicked immediately."

The recently coalesced collective (a debut EP appeared around a year ago in the US only) met through critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Jeff Klein, who played with each of them in his travels as a solo artist. Klein met guitarist Dave Rosser, a touring member of the Twilight Singers through producer, Mike Napolitano. Bassist Ashley Dzerigian was in Great Northern and toured with Ed Harcourt. Drummer Cully Symington was in bands like Cursive and Bishop Allen and tracked the Gutter Twins album. Rick Nelson, who plays violin, viola, cello and keyboards in the band, is a longtime member of the Polyphonic Spree and St. Vincent. Matt Bricker, also a member of the Polyphonic Spree, had been playing with The Low Lows.

The new band is of no fixed genre, approaching each song individually to see what they can bring to it and pull out if it. "It's actually the most exciting time in my life. It actually reminded me why I like doing what I do. I had my finger cut off and reattached, quit smoking and lost a bunch of weight," Klein laughs, "I've earned myself a band."