Laibach Announce New DVD Volk Dead In Trbovlje

posted August 15, 2008

Laibach Announce New DVD Volk Dead In Trbovlje

Laibach announce details of a new DVD, Volk Dead In Trbovlje (out September 2, 2008). Laibach will also return to the US for their first U.S. tour in four years in September. The DVD was filmed during the extensive tour based on Laibach's acclaimed album, Volk, a collection of interpretations of national anthems which includes the national anthem for NSK, the State in time without territory and national boundaries which Laibach have been linked with since its formation in 1992.

On the album, Laibach uncovering a common ground linking the nations, a shared patriotic sentiment based around the bloody and violent foundations of nation which here, can be heard in the lyrics and pomp of the largely hymnal tracks. By reinterpreting the music and translating the lyrics of each anthem, the band have not only shown us this common ground, they have also offered up a very pertinent comment on today's political situation and a warning for future generations.

Volk Dead In Trbovlje shows their concert in Trbovlje, Slovenia, the industrial town associated with the birthplace of Laibach in 1980.

As a bonus, the DVD offers a collection of some of the most relevant screens that were projected during the show, animated stories of some of the most important songs. The Laibach music videos associated with Volk are part of the content too. The project ends with a tour medley, a short video commentary as a souvenir from some of the places where Laibach have toured with Volk.

"Pop music is for sheep and we are shepherds disguised as wolves" - Laibach

Mon, Sep 22, 2008 Seattle, WA @ Showbox at the Market
Tue, Sep 23, 2008 Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Thu, Sep 25, 2008 San Francisco, CA @ Independent
Fri, Sep 26, 2008 Hollywood, CA @ Key Club
Sun, Sep 28, 2008 Tijuana B.C. Mexico @ El Foro
Tue, Sep 30, 2008 New York, NY @ Fillmore at Irving Plaza

DVD Tracklist: (NTSC All Regions)

  1. Germania
  2. America
  3. Anglia
  4. Rossiya
  5. Francia
  6. Italia
  7. España
  8. Yisra'el
  9. Türkiye
  10. Zhonghuá
  11. Nippon
  12. Slovania
  13. NSK
  14. Tanz Mit Laibach
  15. Alle Gegen Alle
  16. Du Bist Unser
  17. Hell: Symmetry
  18. Achtung!
  19. Das Spiel Ist Aus
  20. Laibach Medley
  21. Germania (Screen)
  22. Anglia (Video)
  23. Rossiya (Video)
  24. Francia (Screen)
  25. España (Screen)
  26. Türkiye (Video)
  27. Zhonghuá (Screen)
  28. Nippon (Screen)
  29. Slovania (Video)
  30. Vaticanae (Screen)
  31. Volk Tour Medley