Latin Rockers Kinky Announce 2009 US Tour

posted December 4, 2008

Latin Rockers Kinky Announce 2009 US Tour

Latin electronic rockers Kinky will bring their raucous live shows back to the US for a 15-city trek in support of the upcoming release of their fourth studio album, Barracuda. The tour will begin in San Francisco on February 21 and wrap in Chicago on March 14; the quintet will celebrate their CD release on February 24 with a show in their second home of Los Angeles.

Over the past 6 years, Kinky has become known for their spirited and infectious live shows that have crowds dancing from coast to coast (yes…even in Los Angeles and New York). In a recent live review, PasteMagazine.com wrote: “[Kinky] blends traditional Mexican bass and accordion elements into an otherworldly hybrid of electronica, funk, rock and post-punk, tinkering with genres as uninhibitedly as My Morning Jacket.”

The live sets will include classic Kinky hits like “Mas” and “Presidente,” as well as songs from the new album Barracuda, including early favorite tracks “Those Girls” and “Hasta Quemarnos.” In an early review of the Barracuda, Billboard said: “Kinky hits the sweet spot here on this polished electronic pop set. The group combines its unfailingly catchy hooks with nods to '80s British new wave and geeky electronica riffs.”

Barracuda, like past Kinky albums, is already catching the attention of music supervisors for popular TV shows. The track "Papel Volando" was used in the November 3 episode of Gossip Girl, and “Avion” was used in October 28 episode of 90210.

The band recently released a video for the first single “Hasta Quemarnos,” which was directed by Emiliano Cruz and filmed both in a studio and on the streets of downtown Los Angeles. The dance-a-thon style video delivers the message of the groove-infused song. Kinky guitarist Carlos Chairez explains, “This video is about dancing. No matter what your style is, the song speaks about doing it until you burn…even if that takes hours and sleepless nights in search of places to keep the music going.”

Tour Dates:

  • Sat, Feb 21 San Francisco, CA @ Grand Ballroom
  • Sun, Feb 22 Ventura, CA @ Club Soho
  • Tue, Feb 24 Los Angeles, CA @ Henry Fonda
  • Wed, Feb 25 Anaheim, CA @ House Of Blues
  • Thur, Feb 26 San Diego, CA @ House Of Blues
  • Fri, Feb 27 Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
  • Sat, Feb 28 El Paso, TX @ Bandoleros
  • Wed, Mar 4 San Antonio, TX @ Club Rio
  • Thur, Mar 5 McAllen, TX @ Las Palmas
  • Fri, Mar 6 Laredo, TX @ Cananas
  • Sat, Mar 7 Houston, TX @ Club 59
  • Sun, Mar 8 Dallas, TX @ OK Sports Bar
  • Thur, Mar 12 New York, NY @ Irving Plaza
  • Fri, Mar 13 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
  • Sat, Mar 14 Chicago, IL @ Congress

Video: Kinky - "Hasta Quemarnos"

Comments