Luther Russell To Release "Motorbike" EP Digitally, On Vinyl

posted February 17, 2010

Luther Russell To Release "Motorbike" EP Digitally, On Vinyl

Brooklyn-based singer-songwriter Luther Russell will release the six-track "Motorbike" EP on March 15, 2010, on Wool Recordings/Ungawa. The songs on the EP are taken from Russell's upcoming fifth solo album a double entitled "The Invisible Audience" ­and were selected and sequenced by Sarabeth Tucek, who also sings on "Somehow Or Another."

"It was recorded to eight-track one-inch tape with most instruments played by yours truly," says Russell, who has produced records by Richmond Fontaine and the aforementioned Sarabeth Tucek. "People have really responded to the song "Motorbike," so I thought an EP built around it would be a nice way of calling attention to the new album."

As well as a digital release it will be available on an extremely limited-edition white vinyl 12-inch, which comes with a postcard shot by underground filmmaker Cam Archer. Archer, who has previously worked with Gus Van Sant and made videos for the likes of Xiu Xiu and Six Organs Of Admittance, is currently working on a video for "Motorbike."

The full track-listing of the "Motorbike" EP is:

  1. Motorbike
  2. Dead Sun Blues
  3. A World Unknown
  4. Tomorrow's Paper
  5. Et Al
  6. Somehow Or Another (featuring Sarabeth Tucek)