Mastodon's Brent Hinds Presents: West End Motel, Fiend Without A Face

posted May 2, 2011

Mastodon's Brent Hinds Presents: West End Motel, Fiend Without A Face

Mastodon mastermind/guitarist Brent Hinds has announced that he'll unleash two very special projects this year: West End Motel and Fiend Without A Face.

Fiend Without A Face are a rockabilly/porno/metal concoction mixed with a bit of a country, surf guitar and applesauce on the side. They've been rockin' house parties for nearly two decades, but word on the street is that they're about to go legit thanks to Rocket Science! The self-titled debut features 13 tracks of singular awesomeness that needs to be experienced by anyone looking for a bit of adventure in their listening outings. Like a fat man sending back soup, these boys are on a mission for the world's condition. Fiend Without A Face are armed and dangerous, packing just pantyhose, a fez and a bit of Vyvanse.

West End Motel are a conglomerate of losers, poets and hobo-sexuals. Tom Cheshire met Hinds in Atlanta on a corner under a bridge in 1993. They were panhandling and drinking cough syrup and before long, music began spewing from their pores. Songs were written on an acoustic guitar and a bucket with the occasional toy piano in the background. Late nights turned into early mornings and much booze was consumed. They write and sing for the underdog and give the listener a glimmer of hope. Originally, they aimed for a Simon And Garfunkel hanging out with Ethel Merman but the end product sounds more like Nick Cave fronting Gogol Bordello. The songs take on a life of their own and no two tracks sound alike. Throw Mike Shina, Stiff Penalty and Ben Thrower into the mix and you got yourself one good time. West End Motel are now an official collective and are ready to get down to proverbial business with nine-track debut "Don't Shiver, You're A Winner." 2011 is their year and they're on a mission with no luggage. The band took over Brooklyn this past fall, where rich men, housewives, home bums and a garbageman danced in the streets. The West Coast is next, then the world. These men love music and write for people who love music. It's that simple. They write songs of loss and laughter and occasionally offer a new lease on life.

Fiend Without A Face and West End Motel will be released as a two-CD set via Rocket Science Inc. on June 7, 2011. Said Hinds of the recordings: "I feel like a thousand umpa lumpas have been lifted from my back. I want to thank everyone that made this the time it took to put these two albums out, I wrote five more, so whoever likes this kind of stuff, there's a lot more where this came from."

Check out streams of Fiend Without A Face's "Tsunami" and West End Motel's "I Like It A Lot."

Two - CD Set


  1. Calypso
  2. Black Grass
  3. Green Slime
  4. Cha-Cha
  5. Bank Robbin Bandits
  6. Tsunami
  7. Hot Rod
  8. New York
  9. Don't Like
  10. Cosmonaut
  11. Stupido
  12. Get Straight
  13. Volcano

Don't Shiver, You're A Winner

  1. The Confident Wino/...And We Are Here To Entertain You
  2. The Devil Called Me Tommy
  3. I Like It A Lot
  4. She's On Fire
  5. Under My Skin
  6. Silly Old Song
  7. Highwaters