Michael Zapruder Announces New Collection Of Songs Featuring Collaborations From 23 Poets

posted August 26, 2012

Michael Zapruder Announces New Collection Of Songs Featuring Collaborations From 23 Poets

Award-winning songwriter and recording artist, Michael Zapruder has announced the release of Pink Thunder, a collection of free-verse pop art-songs, including contributions from 23 poets, three engineers, and a few dozen musicians. The album will be released on October 16 via The Kora Records. What began as a bus tour that brought together hundreds of American poets has been recorded and remixed into a  dynamic collection of poem-songs. Pink Thunder features instrumental contributions from over forty musicians and poems from Noelle Kocot, James Tate, Bob Hicok, Mary Ruefle, D.A. Powell, Dara Wier, Joshua Beckman, and Valzhyna Mort.

Potent with weird, funny, and singular possibilities, Pink Thunder presents a poetic experiment to see what happens if poems are sung instead of spoken, when words are surrounded by music instead of silence. The album has already been featured on the Poetry Society of America's blog and in performance at the New School's Tishman Auditorium for the Festival of New American Poets.

With three solo records and four US tours under his belt, Zapruder has been covered by Los Angeles Times, Pitchfork, SPIN, MAGNET, Washington Post, and many more. His most recent record Dragon Chinese Cocktail Horoscope, produced by Scott Solter (Spoon, Mountain Goats, John Vanderslice), won 2009 Independent Music Award for Best Folk Singer-Songwriter Album and was also nominated in Best Folk Song category. From 2003-2011, Zapruder was in charge of curation at Pandora.com. In this capacity he has been quoted or included in national press stories in the New York Times, Rolling Stone, and on late-night television's Nightline.

Audio: Michael Zapruder - "Florida"