"New Tales To Tell, A Tribute To Love And Rockets" Announced

posted June 19, 2009

"New Tales To Tell, A Tribute To Love And Rockets" Announced

"New Tales To Tell, A Tribute To Love and Rockets" is set to be released digitally on July 28, 2009, and physically on August 18th on Arsenal Rock n Roll/Justice Records/Fontana Distribution. Stream Blaqk Audio's "No New Tale To Tell" over at MySpace now.

It's been nearly a quarter of a century since Love and Rockets formed. In 1985 Daniel Ash (guitars, saxophone, and vocals), David J (bass and vocals) and Kevin Haskins (drums, synthesizers) departed from being gothic rock icons with the highly coveted Bauhaus and merged sparkling new wave disco dust influenced T.Rex boogie, rockabilly, punk, folk, proto-rave, and psychedelia into one big ball of confusion.

Shaking the ghost of Bauhaus, Love and Rockets' first single, ironically a cover, "Ball of Confusion" launched their career in 1985 which successfully disassociated them from being pigeonholed into any particular genre.

So it's only natural that eventually similar minded multi-facted artists including both legends such as Frank Black, Flaming Lips, Stephen Perkins (Janes Addiction) Dandy Warhols, Snowden, and newer buzzworthy acts A Place to Bury Strangers, War Tapes, and Blakq Audio pay their respect to a band whom had influenced their style. Indeed, it all does circle back into one big ball of confusion.

"New Tales To Tell, A Tribute To Love and Rockets" is produced by Phil Jaurigui and Christopher The Minister who, after almost 20 years in the music biz in Commercial Alternative Radio/Record Promotion/Management and Satellite Radio in February of 2008, decided it was time to pay tribute to a band that was a huge part of his life and career and a band that had influenced so many other great bands.

While for most of us, Bauhaus, Tones on Tail and Love and Rockets flourished In an era when cassettes ruled our car stereos and vinyl flooded our clubs, but no matter what age, everyone seems to have a Love and Rockets tale to tell. This Christopher discovered when he started contacting musicians to participate. And through various legwork and word of mouth, talks soon flourished with the likes of Stephen Perkins who recalls when "Janes Addiction was on tour with Love and Rockets - 1988 - I remember fog machines, strobe lights, glow in the dark drum sticks and me, an 18 year old punk from LA with my jaw dropped."

He adds, "When I listen to Jane's Addiction's 'Mountain Song,' I hear a rethink of Love and Rockets 'The Light.'"

NYC's A Place To Bury Strangers comment, "Love and Rockets were one of the bands we all grew up too. 'So Alive' and 'No New Tale to Tell' were part of the soundtrack of our high school years and 'Express' sounds as good now as it did then. We are honored to be a part of this tribute record."

Jason Ruck, keyboardist From Film School, agrees. "We feel really lucky to be able to cover this song. One of the great things about 'An American Dream' is the picked twelve-string - classic Daniel Ash style!"

No Doubt's Adrian Young was 15 when he bought "Mirror People" on vinyl and still owns it to this day. He teams up with Morning Wood's Chantal Claret who rip up a snarling strip tease rendition containing a nasty ass beat on their take of "Lazy."

Dance-techno meets cabaret-goth on "Yin and Yang and the Flowerpot Man" provided by Halloween Jack, which includes members of Janes Addiction (Stephen Perkins), Guns and Roses (Gilby Clarke) and Alice Cooper (Eric Dover), and Garbage (Daniel Shulman). While the other supergroup features M J Keenan- Puscifer, Maynard from Tool/A Perfect Circle/Puscifer along with Thomas Froggatt of She Wants Revenge on Bass and guitarist Mark Chaussee- formerly of Marilyn Manson-Danzig & Fight performing "Holiday on the Moon" from their beyond platinum selling album released in 1986, "Express."

Influences appear in every artform on New Tales To Tell: Lending their talents is artist Shepard Fairey who designed the album art and who's most recent work became more widely known in the 2008 United States Presidential Election, specifically his Barack Obama "HOPE" poster.

Bonus tracks are made available on each version of this release and are made exclusive for Rhapsody, Amazon, iTunes, indie retail (featuring The Morlocks), physical formats and limited blue and red vinyl (featuring 8mm).

Track listing:

  • All In My Mind - Black Francis
  • Holiday On The Moon - Puscifer (MJ Keenan)
  • Love Me - War Tapes
  • No New Tale To Tell - Blaqk Audio
  • I Feel Speed - Dubfire
  • Inside The Outside - The Dandy Warhols
  • Kundalini Express - The Flaming Lips
  • Life In Laralay - Sweethead
  • An American Dream - Film School
  • The Light - A Place To Bury Strangers
  • Mirror People - Monster Magnet vs Adrian Young
  • Fever - The Stone Foxes
  • No Big Deal - Frankenstein 3000
  • It Could Be Sunshine - VEX
  • So Alive - Better Than Ezra
  • Lazy - Chantal Claret vs Adrian Young
  • Sweet F.A. - Lossy Coils w/ Ian Moore
  • No Words No More - Snowden