Princeton Announce 7" And Drop Single As Free MP3

posted February 23, 2011

Princeton Announce 7" And Drop Single As Free MP3

Hit City USA has announced Princeton's "To The Alps" limited edition vinyl 7" available physically and digitally on March 29. To celebrate the release LA's pop multi-instrumentalists are making the record's title track available for free download. In anticipation of "To The Alps," Princeton are heading to New York from February 24-26 for select live performances.

They're named Princeton- but after the Santa Monica street where they grew up, rather than the Ivy League college. They're an established part of the Los Angeles music scene- profiled in LA Weekly and Spin, veterans of the DIY artspace subculture, but at the same time remain at a distance from the Smell and the post-modern noise bands that have come to define the venue and area on a national level.

From this backdrop of dichotomy comes Princeton's new album - an effort by identical twin brothers Matt and Jesse Kivel (founding member of Kisses) from across the Atlantic- with Matt stationed in a draughty Victorian hovel in bleak London, midwinter, studying the writings and compositions of Steve Reich, Terry Riley and La Monte Young and Jesse at home in sun-baked Los Angeles listening to disco records.

The result marks new and expansive territory for the brothers as they indulge in the movement of precise indie pop (To The Alps) and obsessed with perfecting a type of music that observed the principles of minimalism- its endless repetitions and simplicity of construct- whilst at the same time interweaving it with a kind of vital melody (The Electrician).

Live Dates:

  • 2/24 Mercury Lounge, New York, NY
  • 2/25 Cameo Gallery, Brooklyn, NY
  • 2/26 Union Hall, Brooklyn NY

Track Listing:

  • A1. To The Alps
  • B1. The Electrician