Quick Hits & Clips: Eels, Silversun Pickups, Street Sweeper Social Club, Spin Re-Do Prince, Doors, Soulsavers

posted June 17, 2009

  • Released June 2nd on Vagrant Records, Eels' seventh studio album "Hombre Lobo: 12 Songs of Desire" debuted #43 on the Billboard 200 chart, surpassing the first week success of its predecessor. The band's first studio album in four years is also seeing success at radio, debuting at #47 on the FMQB Non-Commercial Radio chart, #8 on the FMQB Album chart and remaining amongst the most-added records for a second straight week. Eels will follow up on "Hombre Lobo's" success with a performance on Late Night with David Letterman on June 17th.
  • It's been eleven years since an independent artist ranked #1 on Billboard's Hot Modern Rock Songs chart (Everlast's "What It's Like" hit #1 in December 1998) and now, Silversun Pickups are the proud title-holders. Lead single "Panic Switch," from "Swoon," has impressively jumped over tracks from Linkin Park and Green Day, which were also in the running. Only three songs by artists on independently distributed labels have reached this position: The Offspring's "Come Out And Play (Keep 'Em Separated)" [#1, July 1994], the aforementioned Everlast, and now Silversun Pickups.
  • Street Sweeper Social Club will make their national television debut Wednesday, June 17th on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon (12:35ET/11:35CST on NBC). MTV will be premiering SSSC's video for "100 Little Curses" this Thursday as both an all day Unleashed on MTV2 and all All Day Premiere on MtvU. SSSC is confirmed for MTV2's The Drop for the week of June 22nd and Tom Morello and Boots Riley are set to co-host MTV2's Rock The Deuce on Saturday, June 27th.
  • For this summer's 25th anniversary of Prince's classic movie and album "Purple Rain," Spin has announced the release of "Purplish Rain," a tribute album made up of nine tracks commissioned by the editors of Spin. The entire album will be available as a free download for Spin magazine readers and subscribers via Spin.com starting June 23rd. Full tracklist for Purplish Rain: "Let's Go Crazy" Riverboat Gamblers; "Take Me With U" Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings; "The Beautiful Ones" Fol Chen; "Computer Blue" Of Montreal; "Darling Nikki" Chairlift; "When Doves Cry" The Twilight Singers; "I Would Die 4 U" Mariachi El Bronx; "Baby I'm a Star" Craig Wedren; "Purple Rain" Lavender Diamond.
  • The previously announced DVD Doors "From the Outside" has been canceled.
  • Soulsavers have posted new music on their MySpace page: "You Will Miss Me When I Burn," featuring Mark Lanegan, and a cover of Lanegan's "Sunrise."