Sounds Since Way Back: Vinyl Box Set By Elijah Wood & Bushmills

posted August 8, 2012

Sounds Since Way Back: Vinyl Box Set By Elijah Wood & Bushmills

The release of "Sounds of Since Way Back," a limited-edition box set of 7" vinyl pressings, curated by the actor Elijah Wood, for a collaboration with Bushmills Irish Whiskey's "Since Way Back" program has been announced. The box set includes ten tracks ranging from out-of-print Nashville country & Texas blues, to Wood's favorite garage rock classics from The Remains and The Sonics.

Seven of the 10 tracks are available to stream now and a limited number of the box sets are available for consumers to win via One grand-prize winner will also win a turntable, custom made from Bushmills Irish Whiskey barrels.

"Since Way Back" is a program developed by Bushmills, dedicated to supporting the creative endeavors between groups of friends based on their passions. An avid record-collector and fan of music spanning multiple genres, Elijah Wood teamed up with a few of his friends to curate a collection of their favorite songs.

Some interesting highlights and anecdotes from the launch: The vinyl was pressed at Los Angeles' Rainbo Records earlier this summer. One of the last of its kind left, Elijah Wood visited the pressing plant as they were finishing
up the vinyl for "Sounds of Since Way Back".

On the vinyl collaboration, Wood says, "If you find a way to create something that's powerful and connects to people, why change that process? What's great about being at Rainbo Records is that it's similar to going to the Bushmills Distillery - you're seeing that craftsmanship and the production of something classic that hasn't changed. In a day and age where we're constantly making things in new ways, and moving further away from craftsmanship, there's something comforting about being around a process and an art form that hasn't changed."

"Sounds of Since Way Back" Track Listing


  • A. "Cattle Call" (Eddy Arnold) - Sony Music - 1961
  • B. "Travelin' Blues" (Lefty Frizzell) - Sony Music - 1951


  • A. "If (I Could Be With You)" (Lavelle White) - Antone's / New West Records By Arrangement with Sugaroo! - 1958
  • B. "You're Mine" (Archie Bell And The Drells) - WMG - 1968


  • A. "Why Do I Cry" (The Remains) - Sony Music - 1966
  • B. "Shot Down" (The Sonics) - Etiquette Records - 1966


  • A. "Baker's Dozen" (The Simonsound) - First Word Records - 2009
  • B. "Space Echo" (The Natural Yogurt Band) - Now Again Records - 2009


  • A. "Get Out Of My Life Woman" (The Leaves) - WMG - 1966
  • B. "Go Back" (Crabby Appleton) - WMG - 1970