State Radio Set To Release "Let It Go"

posted July 23, 2009

State Radio Set To Release "Let It Go"

The past 16 months have been nothing short of an intense journey for State Radio. The Boston-based trio toured relentlessly, bringing their blend of rock infused with reggae/ska influences to sold-out crowds of thousands from New York to Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles. They were hand-picked by Tom Morello to open for Rage Against The Machine at the August 2008 Democratic National Convention. They launched their "Take Back The Country Tour" in support of the 60th Anniversary of the Declaration of Human Rights, and along the way played Bonnaroo, Rothbury and the Mile High Festivals. They did service projects in every city they played, from planting trees to protesting in the streets. They penned a song, "State Of Georgia," for Amnesty International's viral campaign to free Georgia death-row inmate Troy Davis.

In the midst of all this, State Radio - Chad Stokes (singer/guitarist), Chuck Fay (bass) and Mike "Mad Dog" Najarian (drums) - spent time in their home state of Massachusetts with producer Dom Monks to record their third studio album, "Let It Go," which is set for release on September 29 (Ruff Shod). "Let It Go" was recorded live to tape, with the intention of combining the trio's penchant for storytelling with their raw and hard-hitting live shows.

With their fans always at the top of their priorities, State Radio will offer two deluxe packages of "Let It Go." The first will be a very special limited edition deluxe fan pack available on the band's website, which will include a collector's edition vinyl album, an eco-friendly digipack physical CD, a double disc Live at The Brattle Theater (30 live/acoustic tracks recorded over two nights in Boston at the Brattle Theatre), a single disc live bootleg recording of the band's Washington, DC show this past December, and an exclusive t-shirt for $49.99. The second package will be a digital deluxe album with 11 tracks, plus the Live At the Brattle Theater recording for a total of forty-one tracks for only $19.99.

State Radio will hit the road in support of "Let It Go" on September 30th in Norfolk, VA, and make a special stop in Austin on October 4 when they play Austin City Limits, sharing the day with artists like The Dead Weather, Ben Harper and the Relentless7, and Pearl Jam (full tour dates below). Tickets for the tour will be available pre-sale starting Thursday, July 16th, and any fan who purchases a ticket online will receive a free digital album with their purchase.

The socio-political band will continue with their service projects in each of the cities during this tour and will encourage fans and locals within each community to join them via their recently launched humanitarian group Calling All Crows, which focuses on two goals: mobilizing musicians and their fans to get involved in public service and working to prevent violence against women through humanitarian relief, with its current focus on women in Darfur.

"Let It Go" will be in stores September 29th.

Track Listing:

  1. Mansin Humanity
  2. Calling All Crows
  3. Doctor Ron The Actor
  4. Arsenic & Clover
  5. Bohemian Grove
  6. Knights of Bostonia
  7. Let It Go
  8. Evolution
  9. Held Up By The Wires
  10. Blood Escaping Man
  11. Still & Silent

State Radio on Tour:

  • 09/30/09 - Norfolk, VA @ Norva
  • 10/01/09 - Charlotte, NC @ Visulite
  • 10/02/09 - Athens, GA @ 40 Watt
  • 10/04/09 - Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits
  • 10/06/09 - Santa Fe, NM @ Santa Fe Brewing Company
  • 10/07/09 - Tempe, AZ @ Clubhouse
  • 10/09/09 - San Luis Obispo, CA @ Downtown Brew
  • 10/10/09 - Santa Cruz, CA @ Catalyst Club
  • 10/13/09 - Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theater
  • 10/14/09 - Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
  • 10/15/09 - Lawrence, KS @ Bottleneck
  • 10/16/09 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
  • 10/17/09 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fineline
  • 10/28/09 - New Haven, CT @ Toad's Place
  • 10/29/09 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
  • 10/30/09 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
  • 10/31/09 - Northampton, MA @ Calvin Theater
  • 11/03/09 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls
  • 11/04/09 - Columbus, OH @ the Newport
  • 11/05/09 - Ann Arbor, MI @ the Blind Pig
  • 11/06/09 - Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
  • 11/07/09 - Montreal, QC @ the Green Room