The Beach Boys' "Summer Love Songs" To Feature Unreleased Dennis Wilson Track

posted May 6, 2009

The Beach Boys' "Summer Love Songs" To Feature Unreleased Dennis Wilson Track

The Beach Boys have long been the world's leading, harmonious voice of summer fun, with an ocean's swell of universally-loved songs about the beach, surfing, hot rods, and in no small measure, girls and sun-kissed romance. Twenty of The Beach Boys' best love songs, from tender ballads to boisterous romps, have been gathered for Summer Love Songs, a new twenty-track CD and digital collection to be released May 19th (May 18th internationally) by Capitol/EMI. Three classic tracks have been mixed in stereo for the first time, exclusively for this release, and three others have received new stereo mixes. Two of the new stereo mixes have been created from long lost, newly-recovered analog multi-track masters. A rare track, previously unreleased in the US and long out-of-print in the UK, is also included.

Two of Summer Love Songs' new stereo mixes, for "Don't Worry, Baby" and "Why Do Fools Fall In Love," have been created from newly-recovered analog multi-track masters that went missing from the Western Recorders studio in Los Angeles after they were first recorded in the mid-1960s. These original 3-track analog masters were recently recovered by The Beach Boys and Capitol/EMI for the first time since they were used for the band's Shut Down, Vol. 2 album in 1964. The collection's four other tracks with new stereo mixes are "Hushabye," "I'm So Young," "Good To My Baby," and "Time To Get Alone."

Summer Love Songs also includes "Fallin' In Love," a song written and recorded by Dennis Wilson during the Beach Boys' Sunflower album sessions in 1970. The track has never before been released in the US and has long been out-of-print in the U.K. (where it was released as "Lady"). This track has also been mixed in stereo for the first time.

Summer Love Songs follows the worldwide success of 2003's Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys, now approaching the triple platinum sales mark in the US, and 2007's The Warmth Of The Sun, a career-spanning collection of deeper album cuts, hand-selected and sequenced by The Beach Boys. Summer Love Songs complements the previous collections as a distinct addition to the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers' legendary catalog.

For nearly five decades, The Beach Boys, originally comprised of the three Wilson brothers: Brian, Carl and Dennis, their cousin Mike Love, and school friend Al Jardine, have recorded and performed the music that has become the world's favorite soundtrack to summer. In 1962, Hawthorne neighbor David Marks joined the group for their first wave of hits on Capitol Records, leaving in late 1963, and in 1965, Bruce Johnston joined the band when Brian Wilson retired from touring.

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988 and recipients of The Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award, The Beach Boys are an American institution that is iconic around the world.

The Beach Boys will be on tour all summer long. For the latest Beach Boys news and tour dates, visit the band's official Website.

THE BEACH BOYS: Summer Love Songs (CD, digital)

  1. Don't Worry, Baby [new stereo mix from newly recovered analog multi-track master]
  2. Why Do Fools Fall In Love [new stereo mix from newly recovered analog multi-track master]
  3. Wouldn't It Be Nice
  4. God Only Knows
  5. Surfer Girl
  6. California Girls
  7. Please Let Me Wonder
  8. In The Parkin' Lot
  9. Your Summer Dream
  10. Kiss Me, Baby
  11. Hushabye [new stereo mix]
  12. I'm So Young [new stereo mix]
  13. Good To My Baby [new stereo mix]
  14. Fallin' In Love [previously unreleased track, written and recorded by Dennis Wilson]
  15. Time To Get Alone [new stereo mix]
  16. Our Sweet Love
  17. Help Me, Rhonda
  18. Keep An Eye On Summer
  19. Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
  20. Girls On The Beach