The Brian Jonestown Massace Returns With "Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?"

posted January 8, 2010

The Brian Jonestown Massace Returns With "Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?"

The Brian Jonestown Massacre is back and set to release their tenth studio album, "Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?" on February 23rd. The 13-track album was recorded throughout 2009 in Iceland and Berlin and features Spaceman 3 legend Will Carruthers on bass, vocalist Unnur Andrea Einarsdottir and a variety of international musicians contributing textures not previously heard on a BJM album. It is to be released on bandleader Anton Newcombe's own label, "a recordings LTD," distributed though Red Eye.

The album marks the return of guitarist/vocalist Matt Hollywood, an original member/co-founder of the band who helped write some of the BJM's classic material from their early albums (Strung Out In Heaven, Their Satanic Majesties Second Request, Take It From The Man, Spacegirl & Other Oddities, Give It Back) as well as penning the infamous dig at the Dandy Warhols, "Not If You Were The Last Dandy on Earth."

Though this is the band's most multi-cultured release to date -- featuring ambient Bhangra beats and gypsy influences of Eastern Europe music -- it retains much of the trademark style that The Brian Jonestown Massacre has honed since their inception in 1994.

Track list for Who Killed Sgt. Pepper?:

  1. Tempo 116.7 (Reaching For Dangerous Levels Of Sobriety)
  2. Tunger Hnifur
  3. Lets Go Fucking Mental
  4. White Music
  5. This Is The First Of Your Last Warning (Icelandic)
  6. This Is The One Thing We Did Not Want To Have Happen
  7. The One
  8. Someplace Else Unknown
  9. Dekta! Dekta! Dekta!
  10. Super Fucked
  11. Our Time
  12. Feel It
  13. Felt Tipped Pictures Of Ufos

The Brian Jonestown Massacre has an extensive itinerary of international dates currently booked and will soon announce a highly anticipated US tour for Spring.