The Peach Kings Announce New EP 'Handsome Moves'

posted July 30, 2012

The Peach Kings Announce New EP 'Handsome Moves'

The Peach Kings, Texan Paige McCain Wood and Californian Steven Trezevant Dies, are set to release their new EP Handsome Moves in September 6, 2012. The EP will be released exclusively on vinyl, and as a digital download via iTunes. The duo will be playing a string of tour dates this August and September, including a free residency at Harvard & Stone in Los Angeles along with a stop by NYC in September.

They describe their sound as "gypsydelic," which is just what it sounds like. Stemming from their inability to choose one genre of music to play, they coined the term in order to reflect their own personal view of the band. "Gypsy-" because they were inspired by playing outdoors and "-delic" because it contains just a hint of strange. The Peach Kings are strongly influenced by visuals in cinema and fashion. In fact, Drew Barrymore discovered their music and selected them to be a part of her Spring Music Preview spread for V Magazine, alongside the likes of Mayer Hawthorne, M83, Spank Rock, Warpaint, and The Drums.

The duo fill the gap between upbeat rock and downtempo electronic, with comparisons being made to The Black Keys, Mazzy Star and The XX. Similarities can also be drawn to Little Dragon, and how they do so much with so little. The Peach Kings draw their sound and inspiration from the smoky smooth crackle of blues, folk, and soul vinyls as well as the hypodermic tones synthesized in various beat laboratories across the globe. Stripped down, The Peach Kings' power is derived from Paige's hauntingly sensual vocals combined with Steven's complementary rhythm and picking. 

While the intoxicating "Fisherman" is the first single from Handsome Moves, "Like A Stone" is another stand out track due to the fact that the lyrics and the tones take over and create a narrative that matches the intensity of the vocals with the music. "Lonely" is a sweet tune with a heavy low end that you can really feel. It has a serious vibe to it, and the manner in which the guitar and vocals mimic each other at times makes it feel like a duet even though it's only one voice. The EP in its entirety has a lot of found sounds that were salvaged from the delirious recordings of giddy musicians with really expensive gear. 

It's been a long time goal for the Peach Kings to press a record on vinyl, as they want themselves and their families to have an artifact that can be found in a crate 50 years from now. Not only that, but in 50 years, that piece of music, like a fine wine, will have gathered all the character and noise that makes vinyl so nostalgic and timeless. 

The EP artwork for Handsome Moves was created by Shane A. Richard, a musically inspired artist from California. The Peach Kings are large supporters of their local art scene, with a strong belief in building an artistic community around themselves. Look out for the upcoming video for "Fisherman," directed by Jace Armstrong, and old friend of Steven's from Silver Lake.

Audio Download: The Peach Kings - "Fisherman"


  1. Do For Me
  2. Lonely
  3. Like a Stone
  4. Soon Will Be
  5. Fisherman

Upcoming Peach Kings tour dates:

  • 8/7/12              Harvard & Stone          Los Angeles, CA              
  • 8/14/12 Harvard & Stone Los Angeles, CA
  • 8/21/12 Harvard & Stone Los Angeles, CA
  • 8/27/12 Bootleg Theater Los Angeles, CA
  • 8/28/12 Harvard & Stone Los Angeles, CA
  • 9/6/12 Union Hall Brooklyn, NY
  • 9/28/12 The Roxy Hollywood, CA