The Perishers Set To Release "Victorious" September 4th

posted June 20, 2007

The Perishers Set To Release "Victorious" September 4thUmea, Sweden's The Perishers will release their sophomore Nettwerk album, Victorious, on September 4, 2007. Victorious is the follow up to 2005's critically acclaimed Let There Be Morning.

Produced by Per Sunding (The Ark, The Cardigans, Junior Senior), Victorious revisits the moonlit, melancholic indie pop that caused thousands of fans to fall in love with The Perishers in the first place. Standouts include the weightless drifter-in-the-dark balladry of "Carefree" and the title track, which hits the road with a battered acoustic in hand and harmonies dancing round singer Ola Kluft's head, jockeying for position to get out. Songs like "Midnight Skies" and "8am Departure" sparkle and fade like the natural flow of a life-affirming rock show.

The Perishers' North American debut, Let There Be Morning, was a blend of emotional wandering, poetic insight and stark, yet inspirational surroundings; The New York Times said, "These songs are irresistible," and Entertainment Weekly called the album "a lovely twilight trip." It was an instant music supervisor favorite, with songs landing on the soundtracks to "The O.C.," "One Tree Hill," and "Veronica Mars," among others.

The band also caught the attention of Sarah McLachlan, who handpicked them to open her 2005 North American tour -- and even guested on a rousing rendition of "Pills" every night -- upping their potential audience ten-fold and helping them to sell nearly 20,000 copies of Let There Be Morning after just 10 weeks on the road. Nightly album sales reached record-breaking levels, selling close to 1,000 per night!

The Perishers -- Ola Kluft (vocals, guitar), Martin Gustafson (keyboards, backing vocals), Pehr Astrom (bass), Thomas Hedlund (drums) - will tour North America this winter. Stay tuned for more info and tour dates.