The Soft Pack Announce Debut Album Details

posted November 16, 2009

The Soft Pack Announce Debut Album Details

California quartet The Soft Pack are proud to announce the release of their eagerly awaited self-titled debut album, out February 2nd on Kemado Records. Chances are you have encountered the no-frills razor sharp music of The Soft Pack at some point over the last year and a half. Whether you've seen them share stages with Phoenix, Franz Ferdinand or The Breeders on recent tours, heard their deadpan cover of "Fences" on the Phoenix remix album, or had the whimsical surfer-punk tune "Extinction" from the "Muslims" EP stuck in your head for the last seven months.

The Soft Pack began as a collaboration of two friends, Matt Lamkin and Matty McLoughlin. McLoughlin played guitar obsessively; Lamkin also played guitar but fancied himself as a singer/wordsmith too. Both Lamkin and McLoughlin were frustrated music aficionados who decided that they'd had enough of all the bands in their hometown dressing and sounding like chilly English bands from the 1960s/70s/80s.

"We wanted to start a band that played simple, catchy, smart rock songs," says Lamkin. "There weren't many bands in San Diego doing that at the time. So we did."

The aesthetic that Lamkin and McLoughlin honed early on is the piece de résistance of their debut - a spare yet fiery jangle of guitars, drums, bass and pokerfaced singing. Lamkin and McLoughlin played the San Diego circuit with a revolving roster of bassists and drummers and by CMJ 2008 had recruited permanent members Dave Lantzman (bass) and Brian Hill (guitars) just in time to play a raucous eleven show run at the festival. The much-deserved buzz spread, and the band was picked up on tours with The Breeders, Franz Ferdinand and the Last Shadow Puppets before hitting SXSW '09 and releasing the limited edition 12-inch "Muslims" EP that flew off the shelves. They signed deals with Kemado Records in the US and Heavenly Records in the UK, and crafted their debut album alongside producer Eli Janney at Saltland Studios in Brooklyn, New York during the late summer of 2009.

"We've spent a lot of time talking about music," says McLoughlin.

And in their 10-song debut, running at a little over thirty minutes and begging to be put on repeat, it shows. The band is already making waves in the UK, with both Mojo and Q profiling the band as "ones to watch" in 2010 and NME including the album in their picks of key records of next year. Lead single "Answer to Yourself" has been getting a great response from UK radio, with a recent first play on BBC1.

Track listing:

  1. C'mon
  2. Down On Loving
  3. Answer to Yourself
  4. Move Along
  5. Pull Out
  6. More Or Less
  7. Tides of Time
  8. Flammable
  9. Mexico
  10. Parasites

The Soft Pack is available now for pre-order via InSound. The band will also be releasing a 12" of first single "Answer to Yourself" and track "C'Mon" with b-sides "Eat Gold" and "Faith Man" in December 2009.