The Willowz Launch US Tour In Support Of New Album

posted March 18, 2010

The Willowz Launch US Tour In Support Of New Album

The Willowz will embark on a month-long US tour on April 1st in support of their latest album, "Everyone" (Dim Mak/Downtown Records). The band will join up with Nebula and Lionize for the first two weeks and head out on their own for most of the remaining dates.

"From chord one, these guys ripped into each song like it was their last...freewheeling and totally engaged in the exuberant energy of each song," said John Richards of National Public Radio station KEXP after The Willowz performed in studio last month.

Combining raw, soul-infused garage rock with infectious pop hooks, "Everyone" is the follow-up to 2007's "Chautauqua," which was heralded at one of the best albums of the decade by the Orange County Register. Recorded in Dallas with producer Stuart Sikes, the new album is already racking up accolades, with Spin praising the band for "sharpening their scuzz by ultra-sweetening it" and BLURT relishing Everyone's "sleeker, more melodic components...on tracks like 'I Know' (thrumming and anthemic, almost U2-like, with an uncommonly yearning vocal from Richie James Follin) and 'No Heros' (bluesy, and with the horns and Jessica Reynoza's sensual basslines, pure Memphis/Muscle Shoals)...They got a heart full of soul, at that."

The Willowz were formed in 2002 by Anaheim, California, teens Richie James Follin and Jessica Anne Reynoza. They recorded a 7-inch for legendary Posh Boy Records, produced by Follin's stepfather, Paul Kostabi (White Zombie, Psychotica, Y.G.M., Detours), and hit the road immediately afterward. Their self-titled full-length debut was released in 2003 and attracted the attention of director Michel Gondry, who featured songs from it in his Oscar-winning film, "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," and on its GRAMMY®-nominated soundtrack. Gondry also directed a video for "Meet Your Demise" and featured songs from the group's second album, Talk in Circles, in the film "The Science of Sleep" as well as on its soundtrack. "Talk in Circles," ranked as one of the "Top 50 albums of 2005" by Rolling Stone, was followed by a DVD companion, See in Squares, which featured a video for every song (27 videos total plus live footage). 2007's "Chautauqua" had a heavier sound, rooted deeply in rock and psychedelic music. Between albums, The Willowz - comprising Follin (vocals/guitar), Reynoza (bass/vocals), Loren Shane Humphrey (drums) and William-Lewis Mclaren (guitar/vocals) - have released a steady stream of 7-inches and toured relentlessly, playing over 300 shows in 2008.

Upcoming tour dates are as follows:


  • 4/1 Chicago, IL Double Door w/Nebula & Lionize
  • 4/2 St. Louis, MO The Firebird "
  • 4/3 Memphis, TN The Hi Tone "
  • 4/5 Lawrence, KS Jackpot Saloon "
  • 4/6 Denver, CO Three Kings Tavern "
  • 4/7 Salt Lake City, UT Club Vegas "
  • 4/9 Seattle, WA Studio Seven "
  • 4/10 Portland, OR Dantes "
  • 4/12 San Francisco, CA Thee Parkside "
  • 4/14 San Diego, CA Bar Pink ***FREE SHOW
  • 4/15 Los Angeles, CA Spaceland w/Nebula & Lionize
  • 4/16 Tucson, AZ Plush
  • 4/17 Scottsdale, AZ Chyro Arts
  • 4/19 Lubbock, TX Bash Riprocks
  • 4/20 Austin, TX Emo's
  • 4/22 Dallas, TX Doublewire w/Mag7 and Here Holy Spain
  • 4/23 Oklahoma City, OK Conservatory w/Pretty Black Chains
  • 4/28 Washington, DC DC-9
  • 5/1 New York, NY Mercury Lounge