White Rabbits Ready "It's Frightening" For Release

posted May 16, 2009

White Rabbits Ready "It's Frightening" For Release

White Rabbits are back with their sophmore album, "It's Frightening." The album was produced by Britt Daniel of Spoon. White Rabbits are set to tour the United States following the May 19th release of "It’s Frightening" via TBD Records. You can also head over to the band's MySpace page now and hear the record in it's entirety.

After spending the better part of two years on the road (including festival stops at Lollapallooza, Glastonbury (UK), Sasquatch, Monolith and tours with The Walkmen, Spoon, Richard Swift, The Cribs, White Denim and Tokyo Police Club) White Rabbits hunkered down in their Brooklyn practice space to set about re-envisioning the dark pop of their debut "Fort Nightly," while adding new sounds and influences to achieve an original work. The result is "It’s Frightening," their second full-length album.

White Rabbits signed to TBD Records (US home to Radiohead/Other Lives/Hatcham Social) and erected a makeshift studio in their basement rehearsal space to demo new material. Band members popped in and out over the course of several months lending ideas and personality to a new batch of songs that defy instant categorization.

After enlisting tourmate, friend and songwriter Britt Daniel (Spoon) as producer, the pair began the process of exchanging demos between Brooklyn and Portland. White Rabbits recorded "It’s Frightening" over the course of four weeks, only taking a break to play the Transmusicales Festival in Rennes, France. The sessions were recorded by visionary engineer Nicholas Vernhes (Animal Collective, Deerhunter) at Rare Book Room in Brooklyn, NY.

Taking special care to recreate the unhinged nature of the original demos, the band utilized the wide range of tools in the analog-friendly studio to shape the personal spirit infused in the new tracks. Upon the completion of tracking, White Rabbits traveled to Austin, TX, to mix the record with studio wizard Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Trail Of Dead) using his exceptional ears to transform "It’s Frightening" into a uniquely rewarding headphone experience.

The lineup remains the same: Stephen Patterson (vox/piano), Jamie Levinson (drums), Matthew Clark (drums, guitar), Alex Even (guitar), Gregory Roberts (guitar/vox) and Adam Russell (bass).


  1. Percussion Gun
  2. Rudie Fails
  3. They Done Wrong / We Done Wrong
  4. Lionesse
  5. Company I Keep
  6. The Salesman (Tramp Life)
  7. Midnight and I
  8. Right Where They Left
  9. The Lady Vanishes
  10. Leave It At The Door


  • 5/21 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom (record release show)
  • 5/30 Cleveland, OH Grog Shop
  • 5/31 Chicago, IL Do Divsion Fest
  • 6/01 Cincinnati, OH Southgate House
  • 6/02 Washington, DC Rock N Roll Hotel
  • 6/04 Cambridge, MA Middle East Downstairs
  • 6/05 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda’s
  • 6/06 Pittsburgh, PA Brillobox
  • 6/07 Columbus, OH The Summit
  • 6/09 Columbia, MO Mojo’s
  • 6/10 St Louis, MO Firebird
  • 6/11 Manchester, TN Bonnaroo Festival
  • 6/14 Austin, TX Emo’s
  • 6/16 Tucson, AZ Club Congress
  • 6/17 San Diego, CA Casbah
  • 6/18 Los Angeles, CA Troubadour
  • 6/19 Visalia, CA Cellar Door
  • 6/20 San Francisco, CA The Independent
  • 6/22 Seattle, WA The Crocodile
  • 6/23 Portland, OR Doug Fir
  • 6/24 Boise, ID Neurolux
  • 6/25 Salt Lake City, UT Urban Lounge
  • 6/26 Denver, CO Bluebird Theater
  • 6/27 Omaha, NE Slowdown Jr
  • 6/29 Minneapolis, MN 400 Bar
  • 6/30 Madison, WI High Noon Saloon
  • 7/01 Chicago, IL Empty Bottle
  • 7/02 Pontiac, MI Pike Room
  • 8/02 Liberty State Park, NJ All Points West Festival