Young Galaxy Announce US Tour, Arcade Fire And Cymbals Eat Guitars Dates Added

posted June 30, 2010

Young Galaxy Announce US Tour, Arcade Fire And Cymbals Eat Guitars Dates Added

Young Galaxy has announced their North American tour including dates with Arcade Fire and Cymbals Eat Guitars. To kick off the tour, Young Galaxy was handpicked by Arcade Fire to open the inaugural US show on August 1st in Boston at Bank of America Pavilion. Continuing into the fall, the band will embark on several Canadian dates as main support for Stars. The tour is in support of their upcoming latest full-length, "Invisible Republic" due out on July 27th on Paper Bag Records.

Additionally, "Invisible Republic" has been nominated for Canada's prestigious Polaris Prize. Established in 2006, The Polaris Music Prize is awarded annually for the best Canadian album based on artistic merit.

Previously released in Canada, the anticipation for the record to come stateside has had fans buzzing, but the wait is over. The first two singles are "Destroyer" and "Queen Drum." The US release will also feature the two exclusive bonus tracks "Invisible Republic" and "Flux."

The band's sophomore release builds upon founding duo Stephen Ramsay's (guitars, vocals) and Catherine McCandless' (keyboards, vocals) penchant for transforming the mundane into the fantastic - catchy hooks build into epic crescendos, while political and ethical concerns share space with emotional observations.

"Our mandate for this record was: if it doesn't make you move, it better make you cry," quips Ramsay. "Even better is making someone cry and dance at the same time. It makes a lot of people uncomfortable, but I like it!"

"Invisible Republic" is the product of a long musical and personal journey for Ramsay and McCandless, who first burst onto the Canadian music scene in 2007 with their eponymous debut album, which included the first single "Swing Your Heartache." Extensive touring across North America and Europe that saw Young Galaxy play alongside acts like Death Cab For Cutie, and Metric. Ramsay, former Stars guitarist, has also recently added remixes for The Pipettes and CFCF to his accolades.

Recorded in Montreal, "Invisible Republic" was engineered by Jace Lasek (of the Besnard Lakes) and mixed by Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai, Wintersleep).The record has been heralded as one of I Heart Music's "favourite albums of all time," and "a well-crafted, sweeping pop record" by The Line of Best Fit. Light and dark, connection and loneliness, doubt and optimism - Invisible Republic is the sound of our collective hearts beating in tandem, through both good times and bad. They may be a Young Galaxy yet, but they sing out with an ageless wisdom and tunefulness that bears close listening.

  • 08/01 Boston - Bank of America Pavilion*
  • 08/02 Brooklyn - Littlefield
  • 08/03 Philadelphia - Kung Fu Necktie
  • 08/05 Chicago - Schuba's (Lollapalooza afterparty)^
  • 08/06 Cincinnati - Northside Tavern
  • 08/07 Detroit - Majestic Cafe
  • 08/08 Buffalo - Ninth Ward
  • 08/10 DC - Black Cat Backstage
  • 10/20 Kingston, ON - Sydenham Street United Church#
  • 10/22 London, ON - Music Hall#
  • 10/23 Toronto, ON - Massey Hall#
  • 10/29 Winnipeg, MB - Burton Cummings Theatre#
  • 10/31 Edmonton, AB - Winspear Centre#
  • 11/03 Kelowna, BC - Community Theatre#
  • 11/04 Vancouver, BC - The Vogue Theater#

w/ Arcade Fire*
w/ Cymbals Eat Guitars^
w/ Stars#