Young Galaxy To Release "Invisible Republic" In US

posted June 17, 2010

Young Galaxy To Release "Invisible Republic" In US

Young Galaxy has announced the US release of their latest full-length, "Invisible Republic." Previously released in Canada, the anticipation for the record to come stateside has had fans buzzing, but the wait is over. "Invisible Republic" hits stores July 27, out on Paper Bag Records. The first two singles are "Destroyer" and "Queen Drum." The US release will also feature the two exclusive bonus tracks "Invisible Republic" and "Flux." To celebrate the release, Young Galaxy is making "Queen Drum" available for free download.

The band's sophomore release builds upon founding duo Stephen Ramsay's (guitars, vocals) and Catherine McCandless' (keyboards, vocals) penchant for transforming the mundane into the fantastic - catchy hooks build into epic crescendos, while political and ethical concerns share space with emotional observations.

"Our mandate for this record was: if it doesn't make you move, it better make you cry," quips Ramsay. "Even better is making someone cry and dance at the same time. It makes a lot of people uncomfortable, but I like it!"

"Invisible Republic" is the product of a long musical and personal journey for Ramsay and McCandless, who first burst onto the Canadian music scene in 2007 with their eponymous debut album, which included stunning first single "Swing Your Heartache." Extensive touring across North America and Europe that saw Young Galaxy play alongside acts like Death Cab For Cutie, and Metric. Ramsay, former Stars guitarist, has also recently added remixes for The Pipettes and CFCF to his accolades.

Recorded in Montreal, "Invisible Republic" was engineered by Jace Lasek (of the Besnard Lakes) and mixed by Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai, Wintersleep).

Track listing:

  1. Long Live the Fallen World
  2. Oh Sister
  3. Destroyer
  4. Pathos
  5. Light Years
  6. Disposable Times
  7. Dreams
  8. Queen Drum
  9. Smoke and Mirror Show
  10. Firestruck
  11. Invisible Republic (bonus track)
  12. Flux (bonus track)

Tour Dates:

  • 6/17 The Mod Club, Toronto (w/ The Besnard Lakes)
  • 6/18 Bar, Guelph (w/ The Besnard Lakes)
  • 6/19 Call The Office, London (w/ The Besnard Lakes)
  • 6/20 The Casbah, Hamilton (w/ The Besnard Lakes)
  • 6/26 Belmont, Montreal (w/ Adam & The Amethysts and Little Scream)