"The Invisible Line"

(Paper and Glue Ltd/Defend Music 2008)Temposhark - The Invisible Line

If London-based electronic pop rockers Temposhark was a night out on the town, it is without a doubt that they would be a wild, down and dirty one night stand. The band makes no secret of this as they boldly and blatantly declare their hedonism amidst quick pulsing rhythms to induce sweaty grinding on (and off) the dance floor. Add to "The Invisible Line," the wild night that is their debut album, collaborations with Imogen Heap, Killing Joke's Youth and violinist Sophie Solomon, among others, and you have an interesting musical orgy.

The deceptively light melody of "Little White Lie" betrays a dark tune that includes adultery and other transgressions while the heavy electronics of "Not That Big" complement the song's predatory character. The band stops pretending and hinting at what could be with twittering synthesizers on the upbeat and energetic "Knock Me Out." But Temposhark are the most focused on the stripped down opening track "Don't Mess With Me," which matches moody strings with the lyrics of a rock ego in training, offering the intense grandeur of newer Silverchair. Elsewhere, the band's quieter side brings to mind Darren Hayes' smooth, sweet vocals paired with thundering pulses on tracks like "It's Better To Have Loved" and "Battleships."

Temposhark are unapologetic on "The Invisible Line" and offer up few moments for their redemption. When Temposhark drop the pretenses and just go for the dance floor sound, they are over the top and aggressive. But they seem equally enamored with a softer sound that makes their ballads seem especially gentle compared to their high energy predecessors. While "The Invisible Line" swings wildly between the two extremes, Temposhark definitely give you something to remember them by.